We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming outside, wonderful inside”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unassuming outside, wonderful inside”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We drove into Espanola and had a hard time finding this place. The sign is faded and hides behind a chinese restaurant.
Once you get inside, the lobby smells a little musty, so I was really getting worried. To my delight, the room was perfect. Cool and clean and quiet. The staff were very kind and helpful. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtboothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana S, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Rodeway Inn in Espanola, NM. Sorry to hear that our lobby did not meet your expectations I will take appropriate measures to correct the problem. I will share your comments with our staff.

Best Regards,
Helen Morfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    19
    19
    24
    18
See reviews for
20
29
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The carpet is soiled in the halls. The food remains that were in the hall this morning are still here tonight. The door is almost impossible to open. A very suspicious green pile of residue is on the floor by the vending machine. The wall Paper is aged and distressed. The pool is "out of order" the view from the room is depressing.

On the good side: water has good pressure and is hot. The bed is fine. Pillows are fine. The AC works fine. The tv was ok.

Room Tip: Pray. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oklalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana S, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to start off by apologizing for the inconvenience that you encountered throughout your stay at the Rodeway Inn in Espanola, NM. I will take appropriate measures to correct the issues.

I hope that you could consider giving us another chance to provide you with a better service.


Helen Morfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Espanola hotels

1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

well, I can tell you that the water is hot and tye vending machine is ok. But found the bed still witch crumbs UNDER my sheets and blankets, multiple mystery stains in and around the bed and multiple different rag-tag patches around the ceiling, that looked to hold back mold spots. As one of my brothers put it, its like a real mexican hotel, don't touch anything that didn't come out of a bottle or package.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana S, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Rodeway Inn in Espanola NM. Your feed back is very important to us.

At Rodeway Inn we strive to provide superior guest experience, sorry yours did not meet expectations. I will take appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,
Helen Morfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Perhaps it was the wallpaper visibly peeling off the walls in the lobby or that smokey kinda smell that made me think I getting into a dump. But I had already used up one veto and couldn't risk another with my partner so we stayed here. If I had been blind, this probably wouldn't have been that bad. The bed was actually comfortable with a thick mattress pad and the shower had better than average water pressure. But everywhere I looked, I saw "icky". The front desk clerk's enthusiastic food recommendation "La Cocina" was on par with this hotel so we didn't even try the breakfast room the next day. I had wonderful photos of the dust accumulating in the corners to the missing lightbulbs and, my favorite, two identical wall hangings side by side which at least gave us a few laughs. Unfortunately TripAdvisor's limitations made including them in my review a real pain. Driving through run-down Espanola, I suspect this isn't just a dumpy motel--it's a dumpy city.

Room Tip: Stay in Santa Fe. Avoid Espanola altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Rodeway Inn, in Espanola NM. Your feedback is very important to us.

At Rodeway Inn we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations. I will take appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Helen Morfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Vista, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Looking through the other reviews for this hotel, it seems like the pool broke sometime around summer 2013. It's now April of 2014 and the pool is still "out of order." What's the point of having a pool if it's never going to get fixed? The entry door on the side of the building off of the first floor hallway was also broken so we had to enter through the main lobby entrance. The front door of the hotel is locked at 8 p.m. so you have to ring a doorbell and wait for the front desk person to come let you in. Room seems clean though except for the holes in the bedding. Overall not bad just for one night

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lynnaebv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Rodeway Inn, in Espanola NM. Your feedback is very important to us.

At Rodeway Inn we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations. I will take appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence and make sure that the problems that occurred during your stay will be resolved.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Helen Morfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not many choices of places to stay in Espanola, which may account for this place still passing as a Comfort Inn. It is in by far the worst shape of any Comfort Inn I have experienced. Lobby reeks of cigarettes and they do have smoking rooms and allow pets which gives the small hotel with indoor corridors an overall foul odor. The walls are paper thin and it is hard to get a good night's sleep between the guests that seem to roam the place at late hours and barking dogs. This place is overall just dingy, dirty, and old. The breakfast was the one highlight, there was juice and waffles among other selections.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for an Anniversary party at the Santa Claran, however I have a family that loves the water and the Santa Claran does not have a pool so I stayed at this comfort inn away from all my family. I called 2 times to confirm other details of our stay not one time did any staff member tell me that their pool was broken. I was checked in and unpacked not any mention of the pool being broke. When we went to swim the door was locked, they finally told me it was broke. I asked for a refund and to cancel our rooms she then told me that since my card was charged there was no guarantee I would get my money back. Horrible dirty rooms, beds were dirty and the breakfast area was so small I just gave up on free breakfast which everything was made by a microwave so really no big loss. Please don't stay here, it's just as much money to stay at the nicer places.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefightwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
7.1 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#52 of 60 in Santa Fe
90 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
9.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
950 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 604 S Riverside Dr Ste B, Espanola, NM 87532-3474 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Espanola
Espanola Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing