We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northern New Mexico ambiance; popular with tourists and locals alike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Paragua

El Paragua
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Espanola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
221 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Northern New Mexico ambiance; popular with tourists and locals alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

When you step into this restaurant it is like stepping back in time; the decor is charmingly rustic and provides a lovely setting for a meal. I ordered the cheese enchiladas with red chile and enjoyed them thoroughly. It has been many years since I have eaten at this restaurant and since I was passing through Espanola, I wanted to return to see if it was as good as I remembered. I was not disappointed. The service was efficient and friendly as well. There is a huge parking lot in the back to serve the large crowds which favor this establishment. Fortunately, I arrived early for lunch as the restaurant soon filled up with what appeared to be locals on their lunch hour, judging by the business suits, etc. I would certainly recommend this restaurant if you enjoy New Mexican cuisine. Conveniently located one block off the main drag (Riverside Drive) in Espanola.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny1234_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    87
    40
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My chili rellanos were wonderful, although a bit pricey. The posole was just posole with shreds of meat. I'm used to more of a soup where one adds cabbage and other stuff. The atmosphere was delightful and a huge tree grows indoors! This is certainly a place to take a group for a luxury meal. We got the back room all to ourselves for a group of 7 by calling ahead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri4824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dont go if you dont like things spicy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wife loved it, me not so much. I thought prices were high but that may have been the Santa Fe effect.
Service was good and the people cordial.
In asked for non spicy Pico de Gallo and was told sorry this is way we make it. Then ordered fajitas, normally non spicy but unexpectedly these had jalapenos mixed with meat ,onion and peppers. Did not finish my dinner.
Not everyone loved spicy and some accommodation would be nice

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“family tradition with excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This restaurant was lovingly built and the recipes cooked with just as much care from the original owners whose children carry on the family tradition. Take time to wander and read the accolades that are framed in the interior rooms, appreciate the photos of family members and watch tortillas being made by hand. The huge tree indoors is a great setting for a photo opportunity.

The food is excellent - all original recipes. Prices are incredibly reasonable. Comfort is all around. I understand the staff does a great serenade on special occasions.

If you are driving from Albuquerque to Santa Fe, consider stopping here for lunch and then heading on to Sanctuario de Chimayo on the way. A lovely way to extend the drive and take in nourishment on many levels.

El Paragua has smaller versions (including one next door) called El Parasol in a few locations. If you can't make the main restaurant, look up the other possibilities for a quicker stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
226 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a wonderful experience! From the time you walk in the door and feel the rustic, authentic Mexican decor, see the tree growing right through the roof and see the adobe walls, you know you are in for a treat...and we sure were. Came here with friends who live in Espanola and were glad they recommended Paragua. The food selection was awesome and very tasty, the elder lady who served us was very attentive and the drinks from the bar were served with a flair we enjoyed. We will definitely be returning next time we are in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Paragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing