We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Japanese food in Espanola” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jo Ji's Sushi and Teppan Grill

Jo Ji's Sushi and Teppan Grill
Ranked #17 of 48 Restaurants in Espanola
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Espanola, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Japanese food in Espanola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

When you are surrounded by nothing but fast food restaurants and Mexican food its refreshing to have something new in town. Although their sushi is not the best I've ever eaten it is decent and they also serve gyosas and a tofu rice bowl for us vegetarians. The best roll I've had is the Mew Mexico roll with green chili tempura, roasted bell peppers, avocado and spicy mayo (and no shrimp for the vegetarian).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gurumeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
espanola
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really? This is good?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Soup was good, but sushi was average. Fish was room temperature and not cold. Sushi wasn't wrapped tight. Chicken teriyaki didn't have any flavor. We used half a bottle of soy sauce just to get flavor. Place was 1/4 full, but everybody still frazzled. We spent 60 bucks for average food and left hungry. Maybe it was an off night, but I don't think so. Sorry guys. Maybe we will try it again another time, but for now we will drive to Santa Fe for sushi rolls.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chileman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I live in Los Alamos and love oriental food. We have two chinese restaurants in town and in my opinion they both suck. I've been to Jo Ji's twice now, tried the habatchi grill...Excellant. I tried the chicken teriyaki...Excellant. When I feel like eating oriental food, I will definitly head for Jo Ji's

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jnocaed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing -- should be #1 in Espanol.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I never intended to eat here, but I have friends who grew up eating sushi and who prepare it themselves. They ate here and loved it.

I tried and loved it and go back frequently. If you don't want raw seafood, they also have a wide variety of rolls with cooked seafood. My favorite is soft shelled crab.

Everyone loves the shrimp spring roll. As noted in the first review -- they also have the Japanese steak house type foot but I have never tried it here. The other food is just too good.


.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An actual jewel in the New Mexico mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stumbled across this restaurant the other day. Great sushi is a prize dinner in my book and Jo Ji's is that prize. A small restaurant, but for the neighborhood sized perfectly, that has a menu with many options for all. There are several hibachi tables as well, which I did not try, but every seat was full the week night I had dinner here.

My Sushi was expertly prepared and as fresh as any I have ever had.

Thanks Jo Ji's.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jo Ji's Sushi and Teppan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing