We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Espanola”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Florissant, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Espanola”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was down a few weeks ago and got the hotel/golf package. I thought my room was extremely nice: as good as any of the higher end chain hotels. Had a nice view of the mountains while I was on my little patio having a bloody mary for breakfast. Didn't play much at the casino but was not smoky at all. Had some wings and beers at the bar and although it was karoake night, was not a bad spot to have a cold one. Would stay here again if I'm ever down that way.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank sae_80816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Sae_80816

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. I am honored by your review. We are an independent hotel and we do take a lot of pride in the level of service and the quality of our facilities, but being recognized by our guest is flattering. Please next time stop by and say hello!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    46
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
71
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I do not like casinos and with this one it was no different. The Hotel rooms however and lobby is just fantastic as a place in the middle of Espanhola. Very good and clean for a good price. The only problem is that you must get inside of the casino for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felipevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos U, Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Felipevaz

It was a pleasure to read that even thou you do not like Casino Hotels you got to enjoy the Santa Claran Hotel. We do take a lot of pride in the type of service and the quality of our facilities. I will pass your compliments to the Housekeeping Staff.

Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Was not very impressed with my stay. Yes, the rooms are beautiful, but that's about it. The bed was hard as a rock, only basic cable and zero movie channels, shower had no pressure, and the biggest sin of all NO WIFI. I guess they just want you to spend money in the casino.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andaub2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Andaub2002

Thank you for your recent review. I am so sorry we felt short in meeting your expectations. Yes we are in fact a Hotel with a Casino but there is more attraction in our facility such as a Bowling alley, Puye Cliff Dwelings, Home of the Santa Clara Pueblo ancestors, and Black Mesa Golf Course that has been rated in the top 50 of the nation. In regards of the Wi-Fi the good news is that we are in the process of installing Wi-Fi in the entire building for our guest enjoyment. So I hope you can come and "Discover All We Are".

If you need help with your booking please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I haven't stayed in the hotel, but I have eaten at the casino restaurant. The food there is some of the best I have ever eaten. I had huevos rancheros for breakfast one morning, and it was an excellent meal. There was a lot of food on the plate and the price was very reasonable. I should have made two meals out of it, but everything tasted so good, I had to finish it all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for you latest review for the Santa Claran Hotel. I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed the meal at our restaurant. I will pass your compliments to the staff and management as well. Hope that next time you have time to stay and experience the hotel as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the Women's State bowling tournament and were very impressed with the architecture, the decor, and the spacious rooms and bathrooms at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. It was very convenient to stay here, bowl, and do a little gambling. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abqdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Ms. Abqdiesel

Thank you for your recent review of our property! I am so happy to learn that you had time to enjoy yout time while visiting and that you enjoy the decoration, the Casino and most important, the service! We take a lot of pride in the level of service we provide here at the Santa Claran.

Please let us know when you are in town and please come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed Saturday night through Tuesday night. The hotel and room were very clean. We had a room on the 5th floor with a nice view of the snow capped mountains. It was quiet, comfortable and spacious. There was no bathtub but a large shower in which a 6' tall person can actually use without hitting your head or bending over to get wet.
The casino is in another wing of the building and does not share the hotel entrance. We did eat breakfast in the casino cafe one morning, it was good at a reasonable price and service was excellent. There are also other fast food or local restaurants nearby. We also noticed that security routinely patrolled the parking lot.
You can tell that management has put an emphasis on cleanliness and service, both greatly appreciated by this traveler, and I will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear DanTrips

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Santa Claran Hotel Casino. I was so happy to read this on a Monday, you made my day! Thank you for your compliments to our accommodations. In fact our main focus is to provide the best possible service in a clean environment. We take a lot of pride in the level of service that we provide and in fact has been the factor that differentiate us from our competitors.

I hope I get to know you in person on your next trip to beautiful Española. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great place to stay. The price was excellent! Below $90 dollars for (2) queen size beds. Nicely styled. Exhilarating shower experience. Friendly, cheerful informative staff! Great nights sleep! Even won some money off of the $15.00 upfront players club credit. Ended up taking home $35 dollars, so no complaint's, family took home some money too! Had breakfast at the Hotel restaurant and the New Mexican red chili sauce served with my eggs was divine! A must order and try! Had no problem surfing the net with the complimentary Ethernet cable! Sorry for the late review. Have been busy taking care of ill family member with little or no time to log on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Culturalist

No need for apologies. We thank you for taking the time for giving us the present of your review. We are honored and faltered by it. I am Glad you like the Red Chili we offer at the restaurant but most happy to learn you experienced the Casino and were able to take home some money!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
7.9 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#52 of 60 in Santa Fe
90 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
21.6 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claran Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claran Hotel Casino

Property: Santa Claran Hotel Casino
Address: 464 N Riverside Dr, connected to Santa Claran Casino, Espanola, NM 87532-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claran Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Claran Hotel is conveniently located North of Santa Fe and South of Toas in the heart of Northern New Mexico. The blend of Native American, Spanish and Mexican influences are featured in this newest hotel in the North of New Mexico. With its finely appointed atmosphere, quiet surroundings, majestic views and noted hospitality and service, the Santa Claran is the best value, within minutes of the historic, natural and spiritual attractions of the Santa Clara Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Santa Claran Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing