We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a pleasant surprise”
Review of Inn at the Delta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Delta
Ranked #1 of 2 Espanola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“what a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

walking up the stairs to our room felt like an adventure climbing an aztec ruin. the sitting room had a kiva fireplace and latilla ceiling. through an arch with corbels was a spacious bedroom with a viga ceiling. the floors throughout were saltillo with scattered oriental rugs. the bathroom had a large jetted tub. the decor was a pleasingly subdued southwest style. we were given directions to a wonderful restaurant for dinner. in the morning was a delicious breakfast burrito, with a choice of breads, fruit and cereal. the lady attending us at breakfast gave us an interesting tale of how the delta bar was named, and how the bed and breakfast came to be. what a jewel of a family owned establishment. we plan to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    18
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
78
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a hard time finding this place. Not well signposted, It is set back behind the Delta bar. There is no "delta" here. It is not on the Rio Grande! Warmly welcomed, we had a room that you hiked up 25 steps to reach! We got a huge room with comfortable bed, with locally made carved furniture, a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc. and we enjoyed watching TV from a couch. The owner lives in the top floor of the main house and family serves breakfast. Breakfast was not thrilling but OK. There is amazing native art in the livingroom, part of the owner's collection of baskets, pottery and more. The surrounding gardens are nicely planted with roses, lilys and other flowering bushes.
A treat we loved was found at The Lovin Oven, a roadside coffee/bakery up the road. Their coffee roll was our calory intake for the day!

Room Tip: Beware of climbing steps to your room if you are not fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Well, we don't have a fireplace or a Jacuzzi at home, so maybe I should say: feel better than at home. It was not easy to locate the place at dusk. Fortunately I had printed directions from google maps. The exterior is charming and very nice. Our room (number 8, 2 queen beds) was very spacious, very nicely decorated, with wood furnishing and beautiful tiles. We also had a little private patio in the nice flowered garden. This is a private property, not a chain, so it has the charm of a place built with love by the family who started this buseness. The common area/breakfast area are also very charming and nice. Espanola is not a significant destination, but this place is conveniently located to explore Los Alamos, Chimayo and some of the pueblos in the area. I only have a few minor negative comments (but overall I confirm my excellent evaluation for this B&B):

-burritos for breakfast are great, but we would have appreciated also some plain bread. My daughter usually has hot chocolate and brownies for breakfast, so she just had some juice.
- from the website we got the impression that the place had a swimming pool, while it is not on the property, but in a close community center. Actually, I don't care for swimming, we usually are on taugh schedules and don't have time for that, but my daughter was disappointed because she was expecting to find a swimming pool (my fault, I didn't read carefully the web page).
- we arrived late, it was almost dark, and it was not nice to find out on the spot that we had to take the car and drive 5 to 10 minute to find a decent restaurant, because the Inn is on a highway, and there is no place to eat nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a great room, and at 20'x30' a very large room as well! We stayed in the San Miguel room which featured 12' ceilings, wooden beams, carved wood columns, carved wood furniture, ceramic tile floors with area rugs, WiFi, TV, full bath with whirlpool tub, and separate sink and vanity outside the bathroom. The included breakfasts were wonderful and served in an elegant dining room. The landscaped grounds were a treat for the eyes as well as darting hummingbirds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvianQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked this one night stay based on TA reviews. I had a very different expectation of where the Inn was located and how it would look. I was wrong. We initially drove by the property and missed it because we didn't expect it to be where the GPS was taking us. Then we doubled back and found it. The surrounding area is a little "iffy" but the property itself is outstanding. The main office is great, with all the artifacts collected by the owner. Our suite was HUGE. Some people say the rooms are big, but HUGE is more accurate. Our suite, with two queen beds, was 27' by 24'. That's over 600 square feet! The room has a foyer, sofa, fireplace, two sofa chairs, exposed beams, spa bath, and other amenities. Jody, in the office, was a pleasure and walked us around the property. I'll be honest, when we first arrived I had my doubts about the area the Inn is located near, but once on the property those worries vanished. We definitely would stay here again. Can't wait for breakfast tomorrow.

Room Tip: Pick room two with 2 queen beds. You won't hear a thing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family of five stayed here and can not recommend this little inn highly enough. It is exceptional in all aspects. We made a 10 day "loop" to see as much of NM as we could, and we stayed here two of our nights to day-trip to Taos and in the direction of Los Alamos. It's an ideal distance for both. The town itself is not on most peoples' radar for lodging, so we're guessing this Inn gets overlooked by many tourist itineraries, but it is a gem. Every photo, every positive comment about the size of the rooms, the cleanliness, the delicious breakfasts, the friendliness of the people, the beautiful garden surroundings...all true. I would only say that it's a bit hidden on a busy street, so we had some trouble spotting it, plus we arrived in the dark, but once you enter the buildings, any concerns are erased. It feels like you have a beautiful home all to yourself, and it's not until breakfast that you realize so many other people are there with you too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamTrav2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The landscaping surrounding the Inn's buildings is beautiful and the main building and the buildings that housed the accommodations are inviting. Our room was huge and well-decorated with a really comfortable bed, luxurious bath and a nice sitting area with a kiva fireplace. A microwave, small refrigerator and coffee maker were welcome, as we had lots of leftovers from our meal at the Rancho de Chimayo which our hostess recommended. (Well worth trying.) Each morning we feasted on homemade burritos, special breads and an assortment of fruits, juices, yogurt and cereal. Our breakfast hostess, Mary Margaret was a joy to visit with and we even were lucky enough to meet her at the Sanctuario de Chimayo (do not miss this place) the day we left. This is a perfect location for side trips to Bandelier, Ghost Ranch, Abiquiu, and Puye ruins. Plus, you are situated close enough to visit both Santa Fe and Taos quite easily. We are looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierramomCarefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
10.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
8.0 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#51 of 60 in Santa Fe
93 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
962 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Delta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Delta

Property: Inn at the Delta
Address: 243 N Paseo de Onate, Espanola, NM 87532-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Delta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at the Delta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Espanola
Espanola Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing