We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not visit again”
Review of Inn at the Delta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Delta
Ranked #1 of 2 Espanola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Will not visit again”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

If Espanola is on the itinerary, the inn was clean and the room large. The breakfast burrito was the only hot food offering on the morning buffet along with customary yogurt and jars of cereal & granola. The chocolate bread was delicious. Somewhat surprised at Inn location, not having visited the area before.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank beegood55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    17
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
76
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here on Sept 5 of '09 with family. We chose this place cause it was close to Chimayo Sanctuary without being completely isolated, but Espanola is a small place like many places throughout New Mexico. We were greeted by a gentleman and then a lady who showed us to our room and gave us the basic rundown of the basic info.

The rooms were large and nicely decorated. There were exposed wood beams in the ceiling which seemed to have been hand carved. The floors were tiled and the walls were white stucco. The queen sized bed was comfy. The bathroom was basic with everything just OK and worked as needed. Although we were downstairs, we did not hear much noise from the folks above, but they might just have been quiet.

The best part of the whole place was the breakfast and the main house. The living room and dining room contain Native American artifacts and nice wooden furniture. The dining room has a large partial skylight roof which allows soft natural light in the mornings while you eat breakfast. The owner provides a good breakfast with some homemade breakfast burritos that are very tasty.

Had a nice stay and would do it again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

A big surprise visiting such a TREAT in tiny Espanola, NM. Beautiful, big suites! Beautifully decorated bathrooms and gardens. Everything is A1 Plush, - beautiful dining/breakfast room. The host really makes the extra effort of making customers feel welcome. We can't wait to come back. It's a very unique and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Anything will do!!! Enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InandoutNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The location was great for our girls' weekend, where we visited Albuquerque, Santa Fe, and Taos. The inn is located in Espanola, which is between Santa Fe and Taos and very close to the starting point of the High Road to Taos. Our entire experience at the inn was nothing short of excellent - a true NM experience. The architecture of the inn and grounds are beautiful. Our room was very spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. Dolores was a superb hostess. The breakfast was delicious and gave us a wonderful start for our day.

The location was a little bit off the beaten path, but well worth it! I would definitely stay there again if I returned to the area.

Room Tip: Talk to Dolores and ask her for her recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohfamw3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Girls trip - I grew up in the NM - my friends had not been - have been bragging about the deliciousness of this part of the country for some time. Dolores was an incredible hostess from start to finish. Large room was a dream for four BBF traveling with all our luggage. Spa tub was grand - front porch an evening and early morning delight. Breakfast - now that was amazing. The breakfast burritos, the chocolate chili bread, fresh juice, coffee - amazing. We asked Dolores for her suggestion as to where to grab Hatch chilis, etc. - she sent us directly down the road - couple of miles to Roberto's(??) and Miguel and family - we raided the place. Bags and bags of all different chili powders. They had some of the finest tamales this side of heaven. We bought and ate them all up at a winery as we headed north for a day in Taos. As for location - was perfection - a bit tough to find tho once there - we didn't want to leave. Shall return to this grand Hacienda!

Room Tip: Any and all rooms will be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowerbaitPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This inn was a wonderful find. It is gorgeous, the rooms are very large, and the grounds are fantastic. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning. I highly recommend this hotel. If you are in the area. In fact, it. Is worth a detour to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 974knitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had an excellent experience with the Inn at the Delta. The rooms are spacious and lovely. Our room had a fireplace, sitting area, microwave and mini-fridge, queen bed, jacuzzi tub, and sinks inside and outside the bathroom (very european and very convenient).

The Inn has clearly been built with care and displays incredible craftsmanship. The breakfasts are nothing short of amazing. The breakfast burrito kept us full even after hours of difficult hiking. We never needed to eat lunch. We also really enjoyed the homemade breads with breakfast. Chatting with Mary Margaret over breakfast was a delight, and she had great recommendations for us.

There is not much to see or do in the town of Espanola, but it is very convenient to Ojo Caliente, Taos, Chimayo, Los Alamos and the surrounding sights. We stayed here while exploring the Northern NM area and were glad to have saved the driving time to Santa Fe.

As far as places to eat for dinner, the two best and most convenient restaurants are El Paragua (~5-10 minutes away in Espanola) and the Rancho de Chimayo (~15-20 minutes away). The food we ate there was the best of our trip (even after staying in Santa Fe for a few days).

We would eagerly stay here again, and highly recommend it if you plan to sightsee in Northern NM.

(See my separate post on sights and activities in the area, if you are looking for vacation itineraries)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
10.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
8.0 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#53 of 60 in Santa Fe
90 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
935 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
22.7 mi away
La Fonda on the Plaza
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Delta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Delta

Property: Inn at the Delta
Address: 243 N Paseo de Onate, Espanola, NM 87532-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Delta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at the Delta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Espanola
Espanola Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing