We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour by Native American guides. Great view!”

Puye Cliff Dwellings
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Espanola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ancestral home of the Santa Clara people may be visited by guided tour to the ruin sites.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent tour by Native American guides. Great view!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went here today when the Bandalier National Park park was closed due to flooding. This is a great tour of cave dwellings. Our guide was a Native America who was a direct descendent of the Pueblos who built the cave dwellings which made it even more interesting. The tour allowed us to see what the lives were like for the people who lived in the caves, and the views were tremendous. We didn't get to Bandelier so we can't compare the two. Our tour was small. We were able to into the caves on the mesa and see and handle the artifacts. There is a lot of climbing. Warning-not for this who are out of shape as there is a lot of climbing involved. It is steep. Wear sneakers and bring water. We loves this tour and our guide. We would highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    34
    7
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
“Puye cliff dwellings Adventure Tour”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are in northern New Mexico, do not miss this site! Whereas you can see wonderful cliff dwellings at Bandalier national monument, the dwellings here, lived in by the Ancestors of the Santa Clara Pueblo residents, are more evocative. You can see the dwellings from the ground, but you need a guide to climb them and to visit the ancient pueblo ruins atop the Mesa. Our guide, Awanita, was wonderful and made our tour so much more meaningful than if we had visited on our own. Climbing and descending steep rock crevices with foot and handholds created a thousand years ago, guided by a decendant of those people was thrilling. At one time housing 1,500 people, the dwellings circumnavigate the entire Mesa. We learned so much about how Native Americans lived and interacted in pre-Colombian times. A big CAUTION! The Adventure Tour is not easy. The climb is steep and sometimes daunting. Wear good shoes, take plenty of water, and understand that if you have health or altitude problems, you should stick to the one hour tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Windmill1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really Informative Tour”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had a enthusiastic young guide (Awanita) who shared great historical and modern-day information about native pueblo culture. I did the cliff dwelling and mesa top guided tour. I learned so much. The hike is not very strenuous but there is a steep ladder that may not thrill you if you don't like heights (take the van down). It is HOT on the mesa top so bring lots of water. Wear reasonable shoes. There is a small museum at the base and there were some vendors and fry bread in the small plaza. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our tour of Puye Cliff Dwellings was fantastic. My husband has a fear of heights but he was able to do the full "Adventure Tour". Our tour guide was very accomodating to my husband's concerns with the 23 foot ladder. This was a very interesting and informative tour. Our guide pointed out shards of pottery, stone tools and arrows laying in the trail that were hundreds of years old! We could pick these up and handle them as much as we wanted as long as we returned them where we found them. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in cultural history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbandT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Mi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“important cultural site”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

These cliff dwellings are an important local cultural site. Operated by members of the Santa Clara pueblo, your tour guide will be informative and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malea-n-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puye Cliff Dwellings also viewed

 

Been to Puye Cliff Dwellings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing