We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elephant Butte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dam Site Resort and Marina
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly located”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was with some friends at the Damsite Marina Bar & Resturant, (we went just for a day trip) had a nice meal there in the restuarant and then moved over to the bar for a drink and a game of pool. The bartenders drinks were so good when offered another, we had to decline due to the long drive home, he told us they now owned the cabins and the lodge located right behind the restaurant overlooking to water and the Marina (perfect view of the Elephant Butte Rock in the middle of the water) and the prices for the cabins were really reasonable! They own the lodge too (newly remodeled and located same spot overlooking the water) and for a 2 bed queen it was $95.00. We will definitely return there! The Damsite restaurant also served breakfast and there is a bait store down by the docks and awnings and Brad and Neal can help you out with what is biting that day and some bait. As long as you arrive while the bar is still open, there is no issues with checking in late. They didn't have anyone checking in our room the next day and even let us sleep in. Very friendly accomodation, clean, no bugs and perfect view, and best part, after having drinks you don't have to drive anywhere and you can wake up to a nice lake view.

Room Tip: The cabins are older, but the lodge rooms are newly renovated and they have private outside doors to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunfish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will d, Public Relations Manager at Dam Site Resort and Marina, responded to this review, May 18, 2017
thank you for your kind words. We have made many upgrades to our facilities since your review. I hope you will come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here over Fall Break, looking for something to do since the National Parks were closed and we couldn't visit White Sands or Carlsbad Caverns. It was fun to stay in such a historic building, and found our rooms very comfortable and enjoyed looking at the historic pictures of Elephant Butte in the hallways. Waking up and going outside on the front porch to enjoy the view of the lake was great. I wish there had been a coffee maker in the building to enjoy some coffee before we went to the Marina restaurant for breakfast. Hopefully they'll add one. There are short trails right by the hotel to give you he best views of the Butte, and we rented kayaks in the small town nearby. This is the desert, so we found a crazy looking bug called a Whip Scorpion in our room. It turns out it is harmless, but it certainly got our attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had a great experience with my cabin stay at the Dam Site Recreation Area. The cabins (built by the CCC in 1940) are true to their original design and construction, but appear to have been well maintained with all plumbing, air conditioning, etc. working nicely. I stayed here on one night of a long family road trip and it was a refreshing change of pace from the usual hotels. It was nice to leave the windows open at night for fresh air and wake up with a great view of the marina.

One note: If you are arriving late, as I was, make arrangements in advance and be sure to ask for directions (it's dark in the state park). (I didn't call until after office hours, arrived very late, and I ended up being pretty confused and waking the management up at 11:30 at night. Credit is due to them for being remarkably friendly and helpful despite the circumstance!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been going to Elephant Butte for 26 years. We stay at the cabins most of the time and expect the showers to leak and the place to have bugs. This past weekend we where surprised because it was the cleanest it has ever been. They have new management and are starting to fix the place up. My only complaint would be that they need to be easier to reach when you want to check in. We called on our way there because we knew that we would arrive after office hours. We had to leave a message because no one answered the phone. When we got there no one was in the office and there was a note to go to cabin 15. We could not find anyone at the cabin either. We ended up going to town and coming back later and finally where able to check in after leaving three messages. If the cabin hadn't been nicer than past visits and if we didn't enjoy the lake so much this could have made been more upsetting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy1W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found the Dam Site Resort and Marina online, and booked the large cabin. Based on the website we expected a rustic cabin experience; however, we were shocked to see that the place was filthy. It had obviously not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The shower leaked all over the floor, there were giant hair balls blocking the drains in the sinks and showers, years of grease caked on the kitchen walls, and the floors were filthy, but that wasn't the worst of it. After spending the day on the lake, we returned to the cabin for bed. When I pulled back the covers I found tiny white bugs roaming the sheets, a large black beetle, lots of hair, and a spider the size of a silver dollar. To make things worse, the staff in the marina was rude. We will never return, and I hope that you will think twice before booking a room here.

Room Tip: If you enjoy sleeping with bugs, this is your place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will d, Public Relations Manager at Dam Site Resort and Marina, responded to this review, May 18, 2017
Thank you for your review. Lago Rico, Inc. took over operation from the State Park System in 2015. Since that time, we have made many upgrades to our lodging facilities. I would encourage you to make a return visit and see how nice things are now. We have upgraded several of our Lakeview Casitas with new kitchenettes. All of the casitas have received extensive plumbing and electrical upgrades. The casitas are listed on the National register of Historic Places. they are a truly unique part of New Mexico Culture and we are glad to have saved them for future generations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just love this area. One of a kind view of the Elephant Butte, a volcanic neck sticking up out of the lake! Great restaurant and patio. Wonderful Lodge to stay in. Very peaceful, nice big rooms. Very Historic location! The reservoir popped up along the Rio Grande when the Elephant Butte Dam was built in 1916. At that time the largest dam in the nation!!! First dam built by the CCC.

You should come visit and hang out for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

this place is not really a resort...it is simply a lodge above a marina on Elephant Butte lake. That said, if you want to be away from it all (not that T or C is not already away from it all) and like a well put together rustic setting, this is an interesting place to stay in the area. The lodge is a substantial building built originally to house the engineers who built the dam back in the 1920's (?). It is beautifully situated above the lake and marina amid terraced landscaped grounds. The rooms are basic but esthetically quite nice in a back woods cabin sort of way. There is no front desk or lobby and no amenities except for internet access--only guest rooms--but that is part of the charm. There is a huge southern style covered porch for sitting, reading, visiting, drinking wine, etc on the front of the building facing the lake. In boating season there is a cafe down the way; the marina also has a rudimentary store. We stayed here in both the winter and just now in late May. Both times we were in the only rooms occupied in the lodge (privacy!). In the winter it is austere and a little surreal in its isolated beauty and silence. T or C is only about 10 minutes away; cost is about $80 per room

Room Tip: not for culturally mainstream folks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heyU7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
3.2 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
106 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
182 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
59 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dam Site Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dam Site Resort and Marina

Property: Dam Site Resort and Marina
Address: 77b Engle Star Rt, Elephant Butte, NM 87935
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Elephant Butte
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the early part of the 20th century, the Damsite Historic District has been providing lodging for over a century. Guests can choose to stay in the 100 year old Administration Building. This unique property has 8 guest rooms plus a beautiful meeting space. The Historic Civilian Conservation Corps built Lakeview Casitas are beautifully remodeled individual houses. Most of the units have full kitchenettes including stove tops, refrigerators, microwaves, dishes and utensils. Wi-fi is also available in some of the units. Due to the historic nature of the property there are no telephones or televisions. There is someone available on property 24 hours a day in case of emergency. The casitas are the closest lodging to Elephant Butte Lake and Spaceport America. an Boat and Kayak rental are available from the nearby Damsite Marina. The marina also holds a full service retail store with groceries, fishing gear and clothes. There are numerous hiking trails through the ruins and foundations of buildings from the construction of Elephant Butte Dam. The whole facility may be rented for conferences or other events. A 50 person meeting space is available as well as several outdoor rental areas. Tents, Chairs and other rental services are also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing