We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Elephant Butte Inn is a wonderful place to have a wedding. The rooms, staff, and grounds were fantastic. Our wedding turned out better than I ever expected. The staff was very accommodating and they got all the details exactly right. The entire event was classy and we had the best service. Our wedding day was truly fantastic and I could not have done it without the help from everyone at the Elephant Butte Inn. The food at our reception was sensational! I was very impressed with our experience and highly recommend for a wedding/reception or just a nice place to stay. Family oriented, extremely helpful and just an overall top notch place! I can not say enough about how impressed we were with everything. Thanks for making our wedding a very special day, one we will cherish forever. Truly an awesome place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We were thrilled to host your wedding....it was a beautiful event! The work that you put into this special day was phenominal. Thank you for your kind words and best of luck for a beautiful future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
43
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lake havasu City, Arizona, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We cannot say enough about the cleanliness and friendly staff at this fine resort. From the moment we arrived until we left the entire staff including the grounds people we friendly and eager to make sure that we had everything we needed. The outside patio where they allow pets while dining was great. The waiter even brought a container with water for our dog. It was super clean yet did not smell of that awful disinfectant that some places use. Super comfy bed and four pillows on each bed two softer and two firmer. We cannot wait till we can go back.

Room Tip: all areas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhcharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wanted to take another route to get home to West Texas from Albuquerque so I headed down I-25 with a plan to finally see the city of Truth or Consequences and found that there is a 25 mile lake (though very low level of water right now) at the connecting town of Elephant Butte. After driving through the little village we de died on The Elephant Butte and eating at the their in-house brand grill!

My daughter and I had some delicious steak and cheese enchiladas then an excellent nights sleep here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had reservations to take my son to the SpacePort the next day so on a recommendation we stayed at the Elephant Butte Inn. From the moment we approached the reception desk to our check out we were treated warmly and professionally. The lakeview room we had was newly furnished and was quite comfortable with two queen beds. Dinner in the Ivory Tusk Tavern was delicious (have the enchilada plate with both red and green chilies).

I highly recommend staying at his friendly, clean and comfortable property.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRAncient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean and convenient. Great place to stay with friends and family. Restaurant service is slow and they need to staff up on holiday weekends, but other then that, everything else is enjoyable. Very convenient to lake and activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsalazar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Owner at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We strive to offer the best accommodations and services but this holiday was far busier than previous years and our staff seated and served guests as quickly. Thank you for choosing Elephant Butte Inn & Spa and for your comments...most appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to the Elephant Butte Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were adversely impacted by a fire during our stay but this Parton NM is just plain hot and barren. But I guess if you can be by water, the lake being formed by a damn on the Rio Grande river, then this is the place to be. AC units are awfully noisy and you cannot survive without them. They are the kind that get the room cold so you grab a sheet then they shut off and you get boiling hot. So we did not sleep well. This hotel in NOT ready for ADA accessibility. No elevator to floor 2 and stairs to get to lobby and restaurant - you are not in California! Continental breakfast disappoints and is a ploy to get you to order food. It comes with only sweet pastries but if you would like toast or English muffin you have to pay. Had to hunt for Cheerios in the bowl of sugary cereal. Spa is one person only so don't plan on couples or simultaneous treatments. But the staff are wonderful, the rooms are clean and pleasant. If you have (or want) to be in this part of the world, this is a good spot to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wildwingln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Spa Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Wildwinglin, Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are so sorry that you didn't get a chance to enjoy the Ivory Spa during your stay. At the time you were here, we had two massage therapists, a reflexologist and an esthetician on call. We surely could have created a couples package for you; we truly apologize for any miscommunications you received. The ivory Spa takes pride in providing a very individualized experience in an intimate setting and perhaps next time we can respond to your needs. In the event you are in our area again in the future, our handicapped rooms are on the lower floor and are the last rooms to be rented in the event a handicapped individual is in need of the rooms. There is also wheelchair accessibility on the east entrance of the restaurant. Again, thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for almost two weeks at the RV (sister) park. Everything was perfect. We could use the pool at the inn and did that almost every day and loved it, even got a pooltowel everytime we checked in, clean and beautiful views at the mountains and lake. Very friendly staff and helpfull. The Inn looked clean and well kept but we didn't stayed over there. We sure will come back at the RV park, nice level sites, WiFi (soso), Cable and good waterpressure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
4.5 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Property: Elephant Butte Inn
Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing