We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to be here....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you have to be here....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were adversely impacted by a fire during our stay but this Parton NM is just plain hot and barren. But I guess if you can be by water, the lake being formed by a damn on the Rio Grande river, then this is the place to be. AC units are awfully noisy and you cannot survive without them. They are the kind that get the room cold so you grab a sheet then they shut off and you get boiling hot. So we did not sleep well. This hotel in NOT ready for ADA accessibility. No elevator to floor 2 and stairs to get to lobby and restaurant - you are not in California! Continental breakfast disappoints and is a ploy to get you to order food. It comes with only sweet pastries but if you would like toast or English muffin you have to pay. Had to hunt for Cheerios in the bowl of sugary cereal. Spa is one person only so don't plan on couples or simultaneous treatments. But the staff are wonderful, the rooms are clean and pleasant. If you have (or want) to be in this part of the world, this is a good spot to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wildwingln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Spa Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Wildwinglin, Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are so sorry that you didn't get a chance to enjoy the Ivory Spa during your stay. At the time you were here, we had two massage therapists, a reflexologist and an esthetician on call. We surely could have created a couples package for you; we truly apologize for any miscommunications you received. The ivory Spa takes pride in providing a very individualized experience in an intimate setting and perhaps next time we can respond to your needs. In the event you are in our area again in the future, our handicapped rooms are on the lower floor and are the last rooms to be rented in the event a handicapped individual is in need of the rooms. There is also wheelchair accessibility on the east entrance of the restaurant. Again, thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
42
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for almost two weeks at the RV (sister) park. Everything was perfect. We could use the pool at the inn and did that almost every day and loved it, even got a pooltowel everytime we checked in, clean and beautiful views at the mountains and lake. Very friendly staff and helpfull. The Inn looked clean and well kept but we didn't stayed over there. We sure will come back at the RV park, nice level sites, WiFi (soso), Cable and good waterpressure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

35 years ago my wife and I stayed in this motel on our honeymoon when we were just starting out and had a very small budget. At the time it was a bit campy and sort of run down. Returning this year it has been updated, cleaned up and the grounds well kept. The bar and resturant are clean and the food very good for a motel. Having traveled for 3 years on business before retiring I found one thing that really stood out; in the bar they have beer and wine you can buy to take back to your room at very reasonable prices. With DWI or DUI enforcement it is a nice touch to keep safe and off the road.

Room Tip: It is worth the little extra to get a room with a view overlooking the lake and gardens. Be advised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimWW_ELP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here during our r.v. dreams conference, and the place was really nice. the view was really very pretty from the 'lake side' of the hotel. the other side was a view of the parking lot. the rooms were Very nice, I liked the way they were laid out. The conference rooms were also good. They have a bar and dining on site, both were good too.

Overall, really a good clean place with the right kind of amenities. I really didn't get time to check out Truth or Consequences, but we did golf nearby the hotel. Good course, bartender too smug for Elephant Butte.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We were very happy to host this spring RV Rally along with our sister property, Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort. It was a great rally. Thank you for the kind words...I hope you found our bartender hospitable! We look forward to another RV Rally with RV Dreams!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were attending the RV-Dreams rally in Elephant Butte and our RV died about 20 miles from the hotel and RV park. Last minute hotel reservations for almost a week with our 3 dogs went off without a hitch.

The room was clean and had a microwave and a fridge. The beds were comfortable. There were plenty of dog walking areas nearby. The food from the restaurant was very good and there is also a small bar.

My only small complaint is that the wi-fi was very inconsistent, but I don't think that anything could be done to make it better since Elephant Butte is pretty much in the middle of nowhere.

There was a blonde female housekeeper that went above and beyond to take care of us and make up our room around our dog walking schedule. She was very friendly and pleasant to deal with, always greeted us, and always had a smile. The front desk staff could learn a thing or two from her..

We would likely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moviejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We were very happy to host this spring RV Rally in conjunction with our sister property, Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our #1 priority is guest services! We are a little concerned about the comment about the front desk ... it would be wonderful if you could email me, liz@elephantbutteinn.com, for more information so we may have a little more information to improve our guest services. Thank you again for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We came upon this place while driving through New Mexico. Did not know what to expect. We were very pleased with everything here. From the front desk to the restaurant/bar (excellent, reasonably-priced and varied menu and great wine list), to room service, the experience was exceptional. We chose an upstairs view room, very clean, modern and quiet for one night and ate dinner and breakfast. It truly is a gem in this part of New Mexico. I will definitely return here and see more of both this community and the nearby Truth or Consequences. We could only spend half a day and night in both communities, I really recommend it in terms of a reasonably-priced hotel with all the modern conveniences of a higher-priced property and really great food.

Room Tip: As mentioned, an upstairs room with a view of the reservoir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for your very kind review. Our #1 priority is to work extra hard to please our guests...we hope to see you again!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here three nights. Traveling with our two little dogs. We were charged $30 for pets. We thought that was reasonable. Our friends also stayed with their standard poodle in another room. Our friends room was on the lake side of hotel and had new furniture, bathroom, king size bed and small couch. New tv. Our room was clean and functional, but had particle board furniture, old tv, old kind of worn out bathroom, and hard as rock beds. We did have super comfy pillows on the bed. Was very disappointed that we both were given the same rate for rooms, but yet ours was substandard and quite disappointing compared to our friends room. I'd definitely stay here again, but I'd ask for a remodeled room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi. The Elephant Butte Lake Resort would like to thank you for taking time to review our property. Right now, the reasons the rooms are all the same price are (1) we are a summer resort and vacancy is quite stark in the winter months. We made all the rooms the same price as an enticement to travelers and (2) We have been remodeling almost all the rooms this winter on the lakeside and therefore very few rooms have been available. We apologize that there were no lake side rooms available when you visited us. Please, when you make your next reservation, ask for a remodeled room. Show the front desk this email and we will be happy to give you a discount upon your arrival for your inconvenience. Sincerely,
Elephant Butte Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
4.5 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rocket Inn
Rocket Inn
#3 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Property: Elephant Butte Inn
Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing