We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem in Arroyo Seco”
other travelers have booked this property
Artistic sanctuary on six blissful acres...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Artistic sanctuary on six blissful acres...
A lovely adobe home on 6+ acres with outdoor hydrotherapy tub, hammocks, trees, pure tranquilIty. The living room is spacious, big fireplace, beams, traditional adobe.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Artistic sanctuary on six blissful acres...
A lovely adobe home on 6+ acres with outdoor hydrotherapy tub, hammocks, trees, pure tranquilIty.
The living room is spacious, big fireplace, beams, traditional adobe.
Nice size CA King Sleigh bed, with a large picture window and secret door in the main bedroom.
Another shot of the bedroom.
Recycled barn wood used throughout El Sanctuario.  Very tradition, artistic, homey and super clean.
Double rain shower heads for a luxurious shower or use the adjacent soaker tub to relax your muscles
Soaking tub and double rain shower heads for two!
Want a bon fire, have at it!  Enjoy dusk with a nice sized outdoor fire.
The front yard has great views of the Sangre De Cristo mountains.  Summertime views with the monsoon
Artistic touches abound.  An old chapel up the hill is also on the land.
Yes, we get snow!!  Each year is different but you must be prepared in the winter.  Fireplace ready!
Dead of winter!!!
Showtime.
You can't always keep up with the downfall!!
Summertime is the time of flowers and birdsongs and bees.
Great statue of Archangel Raphael adjacent to your own personal outdoor patio.
A local red tail, scouting out the options for breakfast!
The wealth of trees on this land are home to many large and small birds.
A visiting long eared owl!
There are lots of places to rest outdoors.  As the spring comes in, it gets prettier and prettier!
Swings are all around for you to enjoy.  Find the view you want and take a load off!
The views are absolutely gorgeous.  Have a meal outside or sip on some tea or coffee as you lounge.
Sit, relax or sleep in our little adobe house on the hill, complete with 2 queen futons and blankets
Views from the little adobe porch house on the hill.  Ready with 2 futons and blankets.
Lilacs are in full bloom in the early spring.  So fragrant.
Our dome greenhouse filled with goodies.
Some freshly picked radishes from the greenhouse.
Here come the artichokes!
Raspberries are plentiful in the late summer and fall.
The moon is striking when it's full.  Great shadows and plays of light in the sky and on the land.
We've got the best sky in New Mexico.  Sunsets never disappoint.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
El Prado, Taos, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shari C
1 review
“Hidden Gem in Arroyo Seco”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

An enchanted guest house that sits among gorgeous Aspens and on beautifully maintained grounds. Vivien was an excellent host and provided all amenities for our comfort. Among the many things we enjoyed were the hot tub, screen house, wood burning fireplace, and the meandering pathways throughout the property. A bonus of course was a pet friendly property. ENJOY!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thanks Shari!! Come on back anytime you need a good relax!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily R
1 review
“A Sanctuary Indeed”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

El Santuario is a beautiful, peaceful oasis that offered us a much needed respite from our incredibly busy lives. We booked it on a whim after seeing photos on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad we did!

The casita is beautifully situated on over six acres and is located just outside Taos. Vivien, the host, clearly takes a lot of pride in taking care of her property, and it shows. Both the house and grounds were perfectly maintained and clean. We loved all of the seating areas scattered around outside. There are plenty of chairs, swings, and hammocks to do some hard core relaxing!

We felt so comfortable and at ease there that we let our six year old wander around the property and explore to her heart's content, something she's never been able to do before. She enjoyed the hot tub and eating asparagus out of the greenhouse!

Vivien is a wonderfully kind and generous host who went out of her way to welcome our family and make sure we felt at home. We certainly felt more than a twinge of sadness when it was time to leave.

Thank you, Vivien, for a wonderful, restful visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Wow Emily, how sweet!! I was so glad your family came to visit El Santuario and that your lovely daughter was able to walk around and explore and have some safe fun on the land! Do please come back to visit anytime and I'll make sure everything is perfect for you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elliottq
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We rent from TripAdvisor and similar sites quite often. This was one of the more unusual finds. It is a lovely, spacious, luxurious accommodation, albeit a bit outside of the heart of Taos, but as long as you have a car, no problem. It is quiet, with lovely acreage and a huge bed and even surprisingly larger bathroom. Vivien is a most gracious hostess. She provided complimentary popcorn and a lovely bottle of wine. Our regret was the short time we stayed, just 2 nights. We were on a week-long trip through NM with multiple stops, and thus we really didn't have sufficient time to enjoy the fireplace, hot tubs, and incredible grounds. But we thoroughly enjoyed chatting with Vivien on the day of our departure. This one is a real winner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
I truly enjoyed having Elliot and his wife on their visit through NM. Great guests, very quiet and took special care of the home. You two are always welcomed to visit here anytime you come back to NM!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully situated with mountain views”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a plumbing hiccup, but Vivien was very helpful and attentive and everything else about the house was great. El Santuario is an excellent place for couples to stay during their visits to Taos. While the main house is very close, we never felt like we lacked privacy at all.

The house is a bit outside of Taos, but the drive isn't bad at all and mostly offers ten or so minutes of looking at the beautiful scenery, and it is situated between Taos, the ski resort, the gorge, and Taos Pueblo. I highly recommend El Santuario, especially for couples looking to get away.

P.S., can't beat a hot tub in winter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for enjoying your stay and the plumbing is all good now! Thanks for being so understanding when we had that blooper. I very much appreciate your review and recommendation of this property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A True Sanctuary”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Vivien has created the most delightful space which allows one to truly relax and rejuvenate. It is a beautifully decorated guest house, and the large windows provide views of the magnificent mountains and beautiful surrounding landscape. We were there during a cold snap and bit of snow, which made for even a more magical stay. The evening fires in the fireplace were delightful and made for a cozy and warm respite. Even our German Shepherd pup relaxed and was an unusually mellow guy - likely somewhat due to the warmth of the radiant floors.
Thank you, Vivien, for sharing this wonderful space. We will be back to enjoy it in full bloom!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and peaceful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2016
Thanks Joanne, it was a pleasure to have you come and relax. And yes, the summer is a whole different experience of lushness, of green and flowers, so please consider another visit when you can get away!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Quiet Casita”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was perfect. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Although the house is one of two on the property, it was peaceful and undisturbed. With numerous hammocks, a hot tub, an enormous open-space bathroom and generous living area, this house was perfect for the two of us, but would definitely be great for a slightly larger group too. The hostess knew about our honeymoon, so she made sure to put out roses and champagne, and made us a little movie watching snack basket. The whole experience was fantastic.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
For such an important date, we were honored to have you stay at El Santuario. Thank you for being such excellent guests, and please come visit anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphscat...
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very appropriately named and relaxing.”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Vivien was the most gracious host we have encountered. We take several trips a year either thru trip advisor or vrbo and this was the best. sitting on 6 beautiful acres loaded with more Aspens and all sorts of varieties of trees and other plant life. Rabbits, blackbirds, magpies (beautiful), owls, morning doves and more. It is a veritable cacophony of sound, especially in the morning. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises, storms rolling in and lightening against the backdrop of the mountains. I could go on and on but in a word, well maybe more, we will definitely be back. The whole experience was relaxing and exhilarating. you need to go. it will peel layers of stress off you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Vivien, the owner
Liked least: there was nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
Dearest Ralph and Ruth,

Thank you so much new friends!! You are both such beautiful people and you took exquisite care of the home and the surroundings and I say a little prayer you can come back again! I'm so glad you understood that the space is essentially a healing retreat a place where we can and want to listen to and watch the surrounding life, without being advertised as such, its a place to make a connection and destress, one that often evades us in everyday life. You two are very sweet, charming, friendly, warm and I am very fortunate to have had you here and to be able to spend some time with you. I'm sure hoping that you know you're always in my heart and welcome on this land as long as I have it.

Peace to both of you,
Vivien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing