We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home”

Stewart House B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Prado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stewart House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 El Prado B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I have stayed at the Stewart House three times, and every time I feel right at home. Stewart House is a friendly, affordable, charming Southwest style place to stay where you feel the Enchanted spirit of the area.

The owners are wonderful people who make you to feel comfortable and at home. In the main building you can enjoy any of the many books in front of the fire or cuddle up with a movie. If you prefer, you can watch a movie in your room as well. Also, the breakfasts are delicious! Fresh fruit, waffles, pancakes, sausage, yogurt, juice, coffee- yum!

It is perfectly located- near Taos Pueblo, Taos Ski Valley and the town of Taos. It's also a 30-45 minute drive to Ojo Caliente (a wonderful, natural hot springs spa) and many other natural hot springs.

Taos is a special place to visit, and when you stay at the Stewart House, you know why. You will fall in love with this place and not want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

My husband and I have been coming to Taos on vacation for the past several years. After staying at various bed and breakfast establishments around town, we have found the perfect bed and breakfast for our visits. The Stewart House is located on the picturesque north side of town, between Taos and the Taos Ski Valley, making it the ideal location for vacationers. The B&B is charming and rustic, a historical old wood building, filled with colorful painting and sculptures, folksy and charming, surrounded by incredible views of Taos mountain and mesa sage, the night skies lit up by a thousand stars. It's close to the charming village of Arroyo Seco which is located in an "S" shaped bend in the road and where there are located several good restaurants, an ice cream shop and cafe, art and pottery galleries, and other great local shopping. The Taos Ski Valley with its world class ski slopes is only 20 minutes away. The historic district of Taos with all its fabuous restaurants and art galleries are a 5 minute drive South with the Taos Pueblo even closer than that. The amazing Rio Grande Gorge Bridge a 10 minute drive directly west of the B&B. But, what really sold us on the Stewart House is the couple that runs it, Sandy and Joe. They are the sweetest, most welcoming and friendly couple! We felt like we were staying with friends during our visit and, ever since when we return to Taos they great us with open arms like returning long lost family. Sandy's breakfasts are amazing! On cold evenings, there's always a fire in the fireplace and a cozy armchair where we can sit and talk, laugh, read or just relax in peace. The rooms are comfortable with private baths available, TVs and DVD players and beautiful views. I'd recommend this place to anyone who isn't interested in the same old sterile hotel experience, but rather wants to experience the true spirit of Taos.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbuddylittlebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

This place is an absolute find. The couple who run it are adorable and treat you like family. This is an real Taos experience. It is a very historic and artsy place located near Taos Ski Valley and the city. It is such a warm atmosphere with fireplaces brazing and the smell of homecooking. The rooms are comfortable and decorated with a southwest touch. It is the best breakfast in town. The rates are more than reasonable. I have visited in the summer and winter and both are amazing.

Tom M
Calabasas, Ca.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtmaddensr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I am a published author, writer, and devout skier and have been going to Taos for five years or so now and staying in recent times at the Stewart House B & B (http://www.stewarthousebandb.com/). If you're looking for a rustic, friendly, affordable, and familial environment that is near both Taos Pueblo, Taos, and Taos Ski Valley, this is the place! Expect warm hospitality from a couple that takes care of you like you're at home -- truly! Expect good breakfast and space to get away from it all. Expect to have a room looking at beautiful rolling mountains in front of you. Expect a fire going while you catch up on the latest book you've been trying to read...This and more from a spot that has no pretentious airs...I love it and simply fell in love!

Luis Gabriel Aguilera

Stewart House B & B
Location: #46 Highway 150
Mailing address: P.O. Box 3020
Taos, New Mexico 87571

Tel. & fax: [--]
Toll free: [--]

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisGabrielAguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stewart House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart House B & B

Address: 46 Nm 150, El Prado, Taos, NM 87529
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos > El Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Prado
Price Range: $72 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Stewart House B & B Taos County, NM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing