We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice intro to New Mexican cuisine”

Orlando's New Mexican Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in El Prado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A nice intro to New Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had our first meal in New Mexico here and enjoyed it very much--I had some very tasty blue corn enchiladas with shredded beef and red chile sauce, which was spicy but not overwhelming. I liked the posole quite a bit as well. Our server was friendly thought not 100% attentive, and the atmosphere was a lot of fun. I think I would eat here regularly if I lived in Taos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squeakycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    343
    112
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stop on our road trip through Taos! We ate outside with our 3 kids. Very kid friendly, great service and fun atmosphere! Definitely would recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Neely T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great again!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was back in the area again this year to enjoy the mountains, cool temps, and relaxation. We traveled to Taos to shop and of course to eat at Orlando's. We both had the chili rellenos with green sauce. Awesome! Guac and salsa were also very good. Service outside was very good (we were there at lunchtime)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Old Favorite holds true”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you heard that Orlando's is "not what it used to be", don't believe it. Busy, funky, fun and full of atmosphere - the patio is just the right venue that makes you feel like a local. (Note: if you love the Woody Creek Tavern in Aspen, CO, the hangout of Hunter Thompson, you'll adore this place!) Although right on the road some distance going north out of Taos, the patio is private, verdant and protected, strung with lights and umbrellas. Inside is fun with Spanish country chic in bright colors. I had the La Reina dish, which is different and excellent. All kinds of goodies.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Loved the food. The wait staff was excellent. Indoor or outdoor seating. Fun place. Beer was ice cold. Had to wait a few minutes to be seated but well worth the wait. The chips and salsa were nice and warm. Very generous portions of food. Cute umbrellas to wait under in case it rains.
Highly recommend this restaurant. Offered homemade desserts as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's New Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Orlando's New Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing