We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Mex in Taos !”

Orlando's New Mexican Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in El Prado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Calais, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best Mex in Taos !”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went to this cafe 9 yrs. ago w/ my daughter and loved it then. Was just back out for her wedding and my New England family said they wanted authentic Mexican so we drove to Taos and i managed to find Orlandos again . It was so worth it , everyone loved the food and we bought shirts and take out to bring back to our cabins . The men in the family love it HOT and they were totally satisfied . This was a highlight of the trip for the N.E. crew and a memorable time w/ family. Everything is well prepared and the portions are generous . The staff are extremely courteous and helpful and the decor is just plain fun !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vermontliskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    343
    113
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This little "hole in the wall" has astounding food....if you wan TRUE Mexican...go here. The "make your own bowl" was a gastronomical delight! had a lunch that carried me thru dinner and the prices are reasonable. The wait staff was attentive and I cannot think of a single "poor" comment. The restroom is sort of weird....you have to walk around the kitchen. I had 2 people recommend and it did not disappoint!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“One the recommendation of a local, we tried Orlando's New Mexican Cafe”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wow, is all we can stay. We stopped in the little village of Arroyo Seco on the way back from seeing Taos Sky Valley looking for good Mexican Restaurant. The owner of one of the very nice art gallery shops in the town told us to go towards Taos, not the Sky Valley, but the actual town of Taos and there we would find a small, quaint restaurant, but she warned "you might have to wait as it is very small." To our surprise we found the restaurant and were seated immediately. As we were visiting with one another we noticed a fire pit outside and it dawned on us that it was for overflow...and boy was it needed. When we arrived at 5pm we were one four or five tables that were filled. Within ten minutes the place was completely full and a crowd had gathered at the fire pit to keep warm as they awaited their turn to eat delicious Mexican meals. Rick ordered Chicken Fajitas and I ordered Los Colors, which is a dish of three enchiladas each with a different chili sauce. As the orders came out, I soon realized it was very hot Mexican food. This I discovered by the way reading articles on how good the food was while awaiting the restroom. This restaurant has a big following among the locals in New Mexico. Anyway, Richard had wanted what I ordered but didn't want to order the same thing, so we exchanged meals and both of us were more than satisfied. It was a great dinner. The place as character. The service was excellent. This restaurant made for an excellent end to our first day in New Mexico!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WLifeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rush at 5:00 p.m. for dinner”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had been sightseeing all day. We were tired, had read Trip Advisor, and wanted to try the restaurant. We stopped across the street in a trading store. We arrived at the restaurant at just before 5:00, the opening time. We got out of our car. Within 5 minutes, numerous other cars flooded the parking lot. We were second in line. We sat down. Soon the place was full. The waitress was very nice. We could not eat "hot " food. She explained to us that we could have the toppings "on the side". Following her suggestions, we enjoyed the meal. Small, clean, not expensive. The experience was a good way to end the day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWilliamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best New Mexican food EVER!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

And we live in Albuquerque (sorry local guys!)

Small. Could easily find yourself waiting. Staff is friendly, service great.

And the food is probably the BEST New Mexican food we have ever had (and my husband agrees and he's a native!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbqBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's New Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Orlando's New Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing