We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Sushi in Taos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi a la Hattori

Sushi a la Hattori
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in El Prado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in Taos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Don't miss this restaurant if you like Japanese food. You will be surprised to find such a hidden gem in Taos. Great sushi and friendly atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
79 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Supermarkets offer better Sushi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had the misfortune to dine at this miserable restaurant in El Prado near Taos. The Sushi that I had was absolutely the worst I have ever had. Even our local Sprouts market offers better Sushi. The only thing worse than the Sushi was the attitude of the waitress who brought the menu to me and when I asked her a question she said,"I'm busy right now" and ambled away with her flippers in tow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So much better than it has to be; great satisfier of your sushi cravings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Do not hesitate to indulge your sushi cravings while in Taos; Sushi a la Hattori could hold its own in many much-larger cities. I tend to like their nigri sushi better than their rolls, but that may be just my own personal preferences in sushi. Hamachi, maguro and fresh salmon are particularly excellent. I also like the salmon skin salad -- but be sure to order it "non-spicy" if you want a traditional version. Cooked dishes that I've tried have been very good, and they have a great bento lunch special on Fridays that attracts even a lot of non-sushi eaters. I believe the owners originally came from San Diego, where they had a sushi restaurant. I heard they were looking to "semi-retire" when they moved to Taos, but the restaurant has been going gang-busters since it opened. Doesn't hurt that it has a wonderful view of Pueblo Mountain (also called Taos Mountain).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
332 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“When it was still crowded after lunch we knew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was well worth eating at…and the setting was amazing…worth the visit …. then … the food….fresh attractive quantity worth the price…eat outside if you can ..the view is worth the price of the food…Taos roll….California roll all were very fresh and tasty …fresh wasabi too….

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have friends who lived in Japan for five years, and they say Hattori is better sushi than any they had there. I've never been to Japan, but Hattori is my all-time favorite, as well. It's a tiny place, so you may have a wait on a weekend night, but they also have lunch specials during the week that are a bargain.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank writeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi a la Hattori also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Sushi a la Hattori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing