We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saloon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laguna Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Vista Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saloon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Didn't stay at the Lodge, we visited the Saloon. Very Friendly the bartender Patti was very informative of the area she also gave us a tour of the old Brothal on the 2nd floor. Quite interesting. Will make sure we stop there again when in the area. The drink specials are great and the food delish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
35
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Average place. Needs some updating and a few repairs. Very quite in Feburary. The main problem for us was no wifi signal when the web site and staff said there is wifi in every room. We did get a discount at Mickeys ski rental for staying in eagle nest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I spent almost a week at the Laguna Vista Lodge last October. It was a beautiful time. The weather was clear and cool. The rooms were large and comfortable. We had a room with a kitchen and it was wonderful. The kitchen was well furnished with everything we needed.
The bar at the lodge is historic and was a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had a small owl sit right out our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found that the Laguna Vista Lodge was centrally located and close to shopping, restaurants and area activities. The accommodations were wonderful and the staff was extremely friendly and professional. The location had a western saloon with a fireplace where you could relax after a busy day. Best of all the pricing was reasonable compared to other area hotels. I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaVistaLodge, Front Office Manager at Laguna Vista Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We all hope you can make it this way again soon and enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited during the month of June and were amazed at how quiet and serene the area was. If you are looking for a nice, quiet (get away from the madness) place -- the Laguna Vista Lodge is where you need to stay. It was quiet, cool and the room was clean, well-kept and it also included a kitchenette. There are small shops that were just a short walk from the lodge as well as the restaurant and saloon. We enjoyed our stay and hope to travel again to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaVistaLodge, Front Office Manager at Laguna Vista Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review, hope you can visit us again real soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for some relaxing peace and quiet; avoid the slopeside crowds and stay here! Great service; enjoyed chocolate martini and fireplace at the Saloon. Queen bed cabin was spacious and very clean but will go with a king bed next time. Cute shops right across the street. And did I mention its half the price of the other joints. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leapfrogllp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited here in February of 2013 to go skiing at Angel Fire and we were very impressed with the accomodations. We had driven past the lodge many times going to Taos and Red River and decided to stay here because it had good reviews and the rates were quite reasonable.

You can tell the cabins are older units but they have been well maintained. The floors, windows, and bathroom were all clean. The bed was very comfortable and we woke up well rested each morning. The room had a flatscreen TV with DVD and VHS (althought the DVD player didn't work) and DirecTV for service, which I really enjoyed as it's so much better than the plain cable you often get in a regular hotel.

If I had one complaint it was the lack of a vent fan in the bathroom. I understand adding a vent to a bathroom in an older structure can be difficult, maybe just a recirculating bathroom fan with a charcoal filter would be nice.

Room Tip: The further away from the main lodge the lower the WiFi signal, it was ok but not great in the cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Nest
11.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
13.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
10.8 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Lodge

Property: Laguna Vista Lodge
Address: 51 E Therma Dr, Eagle Nest, NM 87718-9000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Eagle Nest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Vista Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to welcome you to the Laguna Vista Lodge, Historic Restaurant & Saloon. We hope that your visit with us will be a wonderful time.All of the rooms are nonsmoking, they have coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, refrigerators, and personal care amenities. Daily housekeeping staff.We have Deluxe Rooms with One Queen and a Full Futon. All rooms have new King or Queens Pillow Top Mattress. These rooms are very large with a large dressing room and all the amenities. The Sportsman Cabins have a full kitchen, living area, and bedroom.The two-bedroom kitchenettes have 27” TVs with easy hook-ups on the front for plug and play games. All of the rooms have VCRs or DVDs, and DirecTV with over 103 channels. A small selection of movies is available at the front desk. We also have a guest laundry room. Three picnic areas and indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, including a fifty-foot stage. If you are on a do-it-yourself budget, the courtyards with stage and five-foot grill are available for rent. Just give us the food order and it will be waiting for you, or we can cater your parties.Park by your room and walk to everything in Eagle Nest.The restaurant offers tours of the original 1890s hotel (later brothel). Full menu with great desserts, serving breakfast on the weekends, and catering for your special occasion is available.The Saloon offers package/carry out, pool table, regulation shuffleboard, private parties by the fireplace and live entertainment - not to mention the colorful locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Hotel Eagle Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing