We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ and Burger we had on our entire vacation”
Review of Calamity Jane's

Calamity Jane's
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Eagle Nest
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Calamity Jane's is a family owned and operated restaurant. We are not a fast food restaurant and take pride in the fact that most of our food is homemade. Take out, catering & special order baked goods available.
Alamogrodo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best BBQ and Burger we had on our entire vacation”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It was hot outside for Eagle Nest, but cool inside with good hot food. Service was necessarily slow due to the art fair happening across the street. The wait was pleasant and the atmosphere WESTERN. The BBQ pork sandwich was excellent. My wife got the hamburger and she said it was delicious. The beer was cold in the bottle served with a chilled glass. It was the best we had eaten in the 21 days of vacation and 2000 miles of travel we were completing with this stop. I LOVE BBQ and have enjoyed Dallas' treats for 16 years. This was top notch! No wonder so many Texas license plates were in the area. This is a "must repeat" for us and we will be going back soon. Didn't get to try dinner there, but the breakfast buffet was ample and delicious. Want Outback or a chain? This ain't it partner. This is real food for BBQ lovers, Texas style, in NM.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    21
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pratt, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
“Terrible!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The servers in this restaurant were terrible. We gave this restaurant two attempts during our recent stay in Eagle Nest and were less then satisfied both times. The food was good but the service was horrible. We waited over 40 MINUTES FOR OUR BREAKFAST and the restaurant wasn't even busy. When I asked if our food would be out soon the server just shrugged and said she didn't know. I about got up and left and I wish I would have as it was very hard for me to watch others get the same service we did. This restaurant is headed for failure if it doesn't improve its service. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT TO ANYONE! Drive on by and save yourself some frustration!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“rustic, but nice”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a renovated tavern, so it has a very western feel to it. It was a neat atmosphere, but the food was average. Because it is an old building the windows did not open, which made it quite stuffy, which is hard to do in Eagles Nest

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really cool rustic experience.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stopped at Calamity Jane's twice in late June 2012 on vacation. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was as real as a real western saloon can get. Look for the Sallon sign or the Saloon & Package sign. Try the Chicken Fried Steak.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dreadful service”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Right after we sat down, the server showed up at the table to inform us that there were two large tables ahead of us and only one cook. As we were on vacation and in no hurry, we did not mind waiting for our food. What she meant to say was she did not want us to stay because she would rather not be bothered.

We ordered poppers and fried pickles as appetizers. They were just as expected. For our meals, we chose the Monte Cristos. All the food was fine, but the server was so abrasive it really put a damper on the whole experience. My husband described her as adversarial. She put up the chairs in the dining room while we were eating, and in her haste to get us out of there forgot to bring us the togo box we needed in order to leave. She would make a better dishwasher than server.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank epicureal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calamity Jane's also viewed

 

Been to Calamity Jane's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing