We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of D & D Cafe - CLOSED

D & D Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Eagle Nest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The d&d cafe is a favorite for the town. Friendly, great food. Homemade french fries, chicken fried steak is the best around for the price. Chicken strips are also the best. They try to be open everyday, but when you have to run the cafe with two people it is had to do that. Trust me I have been there and done that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service! ”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Every year we stay in Eagle Nest and go skiing in Angel Fire. Every year we eat breakfast at D & D's and it has never disappointed! The owner is a very friendly man and makes great breakfast and the food looks decorative. The service is always great. It is small, but wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Asher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like a box of chocolates...”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

... you just never know what you'll find!

We stopped in at the D&D Cafe for lunch during a Northern New Mexico walkabout and were more than pleasantly surprised. It's a smallish, 60s-looking cafe, and believe it or not, the folks running it had 60s music on in the kitchen which spilled out over the half-dozen small tables like a warm couch-throw. I ordered a Club sandwich and my bride a "BBQ Hamburger" not really knowing what to expect, and where very pleased with what we got!

The cook brought it out and sat them in front of us and asked me "do you want me to bring the to-go box now?". It was enormous and very, very good! I ended up eating the innards of the second-half of this double-decker with a fork to finish up. My Bride's BBQ Hamburger was a huge burger with wonderfully savory bar-b-que sauce all over it, cheddar, and all the fixins. She had to eat it with a fork and barely made it through 50%. Wonderful iced tea, onion rings, and fries. Dessert going to other folks tables looked tasty, but we had to pass.

Stop in for a great meal, good/familiar music, and friendly folks. Don't be shocked when they start singing with the music! :D

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good eats, nice folks”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a small cafe in a small town. The food is good. Staff are pleasant. If the parking lot is full, then you should try another place, unless you can wait just because the service can be kind of slow. Only 5 tables inside and two outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestSlope,CO
Level Contributor
166 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good candidate for Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a tiny, locally owned cafe in an old building but it was clean and tidy inside. We stopped for lunch on the recommendation of the shop owner across the street, and we enjoyed our burgers, fries, and onion rings. One of us had tea, one water, and one Dr. Pepper, and all were fine...no problem with the drinks as another review noted. (hamburgers were hand-formed from fresh beef rather than pre-fab frozen) We also enjoyed chatting with the friendly owner who filled us in on some of the problems of owning a business in such a small community, then promptly and cheerfully "fined" himself according to the sign above the door, "Whining $5."

The couple next to us had ordered a chicken sandwich, and everyone laughed when the sandwiches came out, as they were HUGE! I think there was a whole fried chicken breast on each bun.

We thought the prices were reasonable and would certainly eat there again. I'm rating D&D as Very Good in its category for the good food and friendly service, keeping in mind that this is a small town diner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misspWestSlope_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D & D Cafe also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing