We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Salad Bar in Deming -- Serves Beer & Wine”
Review of Rancher's Grill

Rancher's Grill
Ranked #16 of 57 Restaurants in Deming
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Salad Bar in Deming -- Serves Beer & Wine”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a great waitress and quick service. Burger and chicken for dinner was okay -- but the salad bar! Wow, should have just gotten that! Beautiful fresh spinach and other veggies -- that was the gem of our trip to Deming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMFireHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    26
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deming, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Use caution or you will get stung”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As Demingites, (& owners of a local business) we try to patronize our businesses here in town. Once a month our entire crew would get together and go out to eat,quite often at the Ranchers Grill.....until a few months ago! The food has always been mediocre, better sometimes than others, BUT, the waitresses we usually had were GREAT, thus making it worth the risk. .....THEN at our last visit (& final I might add)we were really treated rather lousy by some woman who made it quite clear that customer service means nothing to her. Mind you she was not our waitress, just the one taking our money,. Example: One member of our party had a salad with her meal, & on the plate was a particular item she didn't care for, so she allowed a small child in the group to eat it, Miss High & Mighty then decided that we were going to have to pay for an entire EXTRA salad bar for this infraction! The place is a bit pricy, usually when you order a $25.00 steak you would assume to get a couple of sides and your salad, not so here, the small side salad is an additional $3.99!! Want a good steak....I'd visit the Adobe Deli, Las Casuelos, or Palma's first!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thegritgetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Give this one a miss. If you're into huge portions, you might like it, but then....huge portions of what? Lots of starches, meats generally way too fatty and with too much gristle. Wait staff generally friendly, but we usually go to a restaurant for the food,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I've been here a handful of times and have come to the conclusion that you have to take your chances coming here. A few of the times, it's been great; the food has been good, the service has been super friendly, and the restaurant nice and clean. Other times, the food was indifferent at best, the restaurant wasn't clean although it wasn't busy, and the waitress ignored us. I'm not sure why it's so inconsistent. Personally, I don't think the salad bar is all that great, but it depends on how you like your salads. This salad bar initially looks like it has a ton to offer, but it mostly has a ton of pasta and macaroni salads, plus things like cottage cheese. I know some people like those things, but I prefer a salad bar to be loaded with options for making a big green salad. The homemade potato soup is divine though- the last few times I skipped the salad and went for the soup instead. As far as main courses go, I've had a chicken-and-green-chile meal which was okay, a grilled chicken that was pretty boring, and a chicken fried steak which was outstanding.

There's not a lot of options for restaurants in Deming, but for people passing through, this is what I'd suggest: Stop in, and ask to see the salad bar. If the waitress is rude about it and the food doesn't look fresh, go elsewhere. If the waitress is nice and salad bar is clean and fresh, then that's probably an indicator of how the rest of your experience will be.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great salad bar and menu variety”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This restaurant has a great salad bar, and at least 3 soups available. The menu has a lot of variety. The steaks don't have a lot of flavor, and are tough and gristly. Suggest choosing something else.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bearhug68jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancher's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rancher's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing