We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, unique atmosphere”
Review of Adobe Deli

Adobe Deli
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Deming
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $65
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, unique atmosphere”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is a very out of the way place, with a very quirky decor. It used to be an old school. The decor includes many stuffed animals and even an alligator. Lots of antiques, and old road signs from New Mexico. An interesting smoking room/library that is a relaxing place to sit, and is well away from the dining room, so there is no smoky smell. Not that many people smoke in it, anyway. There is a full bar, extensive wine list, a pool table, and an oxygen bar-whatever that is; that was not yet up and running when I was last there. The food is really good. The steaks are super, as is the french onion soup and sandwiches. The prices are very reasonable, and the portions are large. Going east from Deming, NM , take Exit 85 to Frontage Road 549 to Lewis Flats Road (dirt). The restaurant will be on the right. From Las Cruces going west take Akela Flats Exit 102 to Frontage Road 549 west until you get to Lewis Flats Road, take left. There is a sign shortly before the restaurant, but you really have to be looking for it. This is a good place to stop and eat if you are passing through, and the food is worth the drive if you like really out of the ordinary places. Take the time to really investigate this place, as the decor is quite amusing, and often surprising, and the food and wine is some of the best around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nopoisonplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    50
    20
    8
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Love Them Steaks”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I love a good steak but because I make a better steak than I can get at a restaurant I rarely go out for steak. Then I went to Adobe Deli. An out of the way place between Akela Flats and Deming. And I do mean out of the way, you'll need serious directions to get there. Now we go as often as we can just to order their steaks or rubens or cod or onion soup or ..... Get the point .... their food is good. The space is dark and filled with taxidermy animals, kind of erie but cool. There are small rooms down the hall (the place used to be a school) and one is a smoking room. Their "wine cellar" is stocked with a wide range of price points and Tobacco Tin provides cigars for those who enjoy a stogie. Check them out, I'll bet you''ll be a regular too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandBetweenMyToes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique and tasty”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you like unique, off the beaten path, one-of-a-kind places with good food - and if you can overlook mediocre service - then you will love the Adobe Deli. It's a few miles East of Deming, and you'll be driving part of the way on an unpaved road. When you get there, you're going to second guess your directions, as it doesn't look like they should be serving food out of that building. (The first time we went, we actually saw a car we had been driving behind for several miles slowly enter the parking lot, stop, and then leave - they apparently weren't adventurous enough for the Adobe Deli experience!)

The wife and I have eaten here twice, and the service is the one reason why we don't come more often. We unfortunately have had the same waitress both times. She's friendly, but not very attentive. The first time we came, she took our drink orders, and after dropping them off and rushing away we didn't see her again for over 30 minutes. After we were able to flag her down, she took our food order and again dropped it off in a rush and I had to ask the bartender to send her over to give us our bill when we were done. If you want anything at all during the course of your meal, and you're unfortunate enough to get the same waitress we did, you're going to need to ask for it while she's putting the plates on the table (or go ask at the bar). The second time we ate there, we ordered an appetizer, salad and steaks. Everything arrived at the same time, which kind of defeats the purpose of an appetizer. The place wasn't packed or very busy either time we were there, and there isn't anything that I could see that would excuse the poor service.

That was the bad, now for the good: This is the kind of place you will take friends and family to just to see their reactions and wide-eyed looks as they experience the unique setting and "old west" kind of decor for the first time. The steaks are great, the sides are tasty, the salads are good, the beer and bar drinks are cold and mixed right - in fact, I've never had anything here that didn't taste very good.

As long as you can deal with the poor service, you will enjoy the experience and have a great meal, and with that caveat in mind I recommend this as a destination experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngryEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Deli Sandwiches”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a place that is worth the drive then stopping here is well worth it. The sandwiches are massive and the flavors are clean and pure! The eclectic decor will have you taking a lot of photos to remember this place! Fun and great food...a perfect combination.

Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprise in a small town”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Traveling through the southwest to our destination we happened upon a remote and unique restaurant in Deming, NM of all places. One of the best filet's I have had and my husband enjoyed the Cordon Bleu dish immensely. The decor is distinctly different with the wild herd of stuffed game.

Only drawback was our waitress Brit, who did not seem very friendly or interested in her customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adobe Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing