We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic Venue”
Review of Adobe Deli

Adobe Deli
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Deming
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $65
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eclectic Venue”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A visual extravaganza of various collections of americana, taxidermy, and oddities, the bartender from Dorchester, MA was fun and talkative, the meal was served quickly we both had the french onion soup (gooey and tasty) The shirmp scampi was a little bland needed a little more garlic but good. Overall a great night out in a very fun atmosphere

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    51
    21
    8
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The French onion soup is to die for. It's an old historic schoolhouse in the desert. Has lots of character. A little pricey but worth it on special occasions. We stop in whenever we're in Deming.

Helpful?
Thank janeald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Mostly" Great food but hire some more wait staff!!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This place has interesting stuffed animal decor - we ate here 2 nights in a row - Friday night by ourselves and Saturday night with our club. The first night we had the French Onion Soup and the New York steak. Absolutely excellent ...but the waitress was overworked. The second night, with our club, put us in the back room, we and the couple next to us had the Shish-K-Bob, which looked great but it had second rate meat on both skewers and although a striking presentation it was awkward to deal with and we wish we'd had the steak again. Again that night there was NOT ENOUGH WAIT STAFF. One couple in our party needed a soup spoon - never got it and after the food was there no-one came again, so she never did get it. THEN... we finished our dinner and waited over an hour to get our bills. We joked that maybe all of us should just start walking out. Sadly I think it would have been some time before they even noticed. Oh and they did not have one of the desserts either Friday or Saturday night. Would we go back? Probably, but we now know what to order and what to expect! Order the steaks for the best meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path...”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by some friends. It is far outside of Deming….not right in town. The building is old and funky…some people might not like that but we didn't mind b/c we heard the food was so good. It was rather pricey (considering the decor). My husband and I decided to order the Porterhouse steak and split it because the waitress said it was big. We started with the French Onion Soup which was fabulous…thick layer of cheese…delicious. We were disappointed in the Porterhouse. It was a bit difficult to cut and flavor was good but not "to die for"…certainly not worth the price. In all fairness, the waitress did recommend the ribs. Table next to ours ordered the ribs and they looked very good. We were still a little hungry after splitting our steak so we ordered the Buffalo Wings. They were basically wings slathered with Frank's Hot Sauce. They were too hot for me so my husband ate most of them. I ordered a dry white wine (Chardonnay) and it tasted very sweet. I asked if they had anything drier and they said no. So, I did not order a 2nd glass. Would I go back? Maybe…I'd definitely order the French Onion Soup and maybe try the ribs. I might try their red wine but would not order white again. All in all, we probably could have ordered a better meal for less money closer to town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcinvest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“If you find it, it is well worth it”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Eclectic restaurant. Great food, best ribs and Porter house. Great Onion Soup. It is in an out of the way location south east of Deming NM. Colorful wait-staff and clients . Building looks like a 1930s barn. Dress is informal. Probably my number one pick of places in the country. To go there, you should be comfortable with real NM cowboys.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Utah_Slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adobe Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing