We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most unusual place”

City of Rocks State Park
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Deming
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of New Mexico's most visited sights, this state park is uncommercialized and filled with strange rock formations.
Southern New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A most unusual place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We live near here and always recommend it to people. It's kind of out in the middle of nowhere and totally unexpected. Very unusual rock formations and very easy to hike around. Great place to take family.
We learned recently that much an an old western "The Tall Texan" was filmed there. No surprise...lots of good hiding places there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwoTacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    89
    24
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deming, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent place to camp, picnic or day hike among prehistoric rock formations. Looking for petroglyphs among the rocks is fun. Visitor center has a small museum & video explaining how the rocks were formed. In the summer there are Star Gazing programs at the observatory on site. Great place to spend the day or several. We live in Deming & love going there several times a year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloride, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“My kind of rock formations”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Loved the varied shapes and texture of the rocks. I'll come back later to camp for a few days. Very interesting. Wish I had more time this trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very unusual rock formations that you can hike, picnic, and camp among! We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon here. Easy hikes around and on top of these rocks enable you to see for miles and miles around. Just beautiful. The ranger in the visitor's center was very helpful and informative. She explained about local wildlife and how the rocks were formed from volcanic activity 30 million years ago. You can pick up a hiking trail map at the visitor's center or online.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffy_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Since we were in the Silver City/Lordsburg area we decided to visit the City of Rocks. Not being familiar with this area we were impressed that an attraction of this caliber was in the area. Noting the rock formations and the history of the area made this stop worthwhile. We did not camp there but there are facilities to camp in the park. The area is very remote but the roads are paved. The service staff was very helpful and answered all our questions. There is a short video for those who want to learn more about the park. Make sure you have plenty of gas in your vehicle as there are no gas stations in the vicinity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City of Rocks State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing