We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Corrales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I chose the Chocolate Turtle because we couldn't find a single negative review, and after staying there we know we couldn't have picked a better place! Keith and Denise were so welcoming, and the place just felt cozy, like coming back to a second home at the end of the day. Since it was our first visit to New Mexico, Keith was very helpful in giving us suggestions on what to do and see. The breakfasts were delicious with a nice variety of food and our room (we stayed in the Roadrunner Room) was very clean and decorated with unique art. The view of the Sandia Peaks from the outdoor porch was so relaxing; watching the sun set and change the peaks from yellow to pink was the perfect way to end each day. We unfortunately did not see any roadrunners, but there were plenty of quail and bunnies! The resident dog, Zorro, was fun to have around and very well trained! He was never allowed in the dining room while we ate breakfast, nor in the kitchen while Keith cooked.
This was our first B&B experience, and the CT set the standards pretty high! I couldn't recommend this place more, and the next time we visit NM I don't have to give a second thought as to where we will be staying!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
240
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This place is like coming home. The owners are so sweet and attentive as well as pet friendly.
The living room has a nice fireplace where guests can sit and have a glass of wine. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Although we do have friendly pets,(Zorro and Rico are hypo-allergenic), we have not made a committment to having our guest rooms as "pet friendly". Zorro enjoys being the B&B"King". We look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It's all in the details! From the moment we first walked in and met Denise, we knew we had stumbled upon a one of a kind place to stay! Rooms were spotless, breakfast was so delicious, fresh baked cookies were out for our enjoyment as well as coffee and tea anytime we wanted it! She even packed us a to go breakfast when we had to leave at 4am for our early morning flight! What kind of hotel does that? We didn't get the pleasure of meeting Keith, but Denise had many great suggestions of where to go and what to do in the area, and her suggestions were great! The Chocolate Turtle was also very conveniently located close to Albuquerque and only a short drive to Santa Fe! We will definitely be recommending this place to our family and friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I am sorry I did not have the opportunity to meet you on your first trip to the Southwest. Denise and Zorro enjoyed your review of your daily adventures and activities. We hope to see you on your trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Chocolate Turtle has it all: beautiful rooms, comfortable gathering places inside and out, yummy food, great views of Sandia Peak, gracious and helpful hosts, and Zorro, who is really the icing on the cake (I should say the chocolate on the turtle). Our initial visit at The Chocolate Turtle was so great that we returned on our way home the next week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlhodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We enjoyed meeting you while on your travels through the area. It was nice to talk to folks who come from our old neighborhood. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our first time at this inn. I must say that the cleanliness was first rate. Spotless was more like it, yet you feel comfortable and not as if you are intruding on a perfect setting. The photos on here truly don't do this place justice since the new owners have redecorated the common living room area with comfortable leather seating. Keith and Denise are new owners to the B & B industry having purchased the inn just about 6 months ago but their personalities are well suited for this type business. We stayed in the Sandia Room which was generously sized and just perfect with a lovely private outside patio. We also toured the remaining rooms all of which were nicely appointed. If you like a private TV this isn't the place for you as the only one is in the common area but as for the week-end we were there none of the guests made use of television anyway. As stated by a previous reviewer the apple stuffed French Toast is an absolute perfect way to start a day. We don't travel to this area often but hope to take advantage of the gracious hospitality of the Chocolate Turtle again.

Room Tip: The Sandia room has a wonderfully sized shower but no bathtub if you are seeking a tub this is not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
One of the best things regarding ownership of a bed and breakfast is getting to know a little bit about all of the interesting people who stay with us. We received a great deal of information about southeast New Mexico and the Roswell mystique from this couple. We thoroughly enjoyed sharing our home and hope to see them again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Lovely bed and breakfast in the quaint village of Corrales. Close enough to go into Albuquerque, Old Town Albuquerque, or up to Santa Fe, without having to deal with all the traffic.

Breakfast of stuffed french toast was to die for. The inn is beautiful, comfortable and Keith and Denise are lovely and gracious hosts.

I will stay here any time I will be in the area, and may even just make it a point to go down for a long weekend - just because.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apachesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed our 4 nights in mid-January at the Chocolate Turtle under somewhat unusual circumstances---we were the only guests at the time and had Keith and Denise (plus their friend and substitute host, Sue) to ourselves. They all made us feel right at home from the first "hello". The Quail room had comfortable reading lights over the bed, aromatic spruce-scented toiletries, and snuggly robes for after-shower comfort. One thing to note: The town of Corrales is in a "dark sky" zone which means no streetlights, so finding the place after dark can be challenging, but use your GPS and look for the flag and you shouldn't have a problem. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stranas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corrales
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Rio Rancho
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,652 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#37 of 144 in Albuquerque
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1098 W Meadowlark Ln, Corrales, NM 87048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Corrales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Corrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and relaxing is a perfect description of the Chocolate Turtle, a colorful southwest style B&B located in the Village of Corrales, a historic farming community in the Rio Grande river valley of New Mexico. Adjacent to Albuquerque and a short drive to Santa Fe, the Chocolate Turtle offers a wonderful view of the Sandia Mountain from its patio and portal. Most mornings you can enjoy breakfast while being entertained by the roadrunners and quail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chocolate Turtle b&b
Chocolate Turtle Hotel Corrales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing