We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Corrales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Just like family”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is our second visit to the Chocolate Turtle. Dallas took very good care of us. You feel at home from the minute you step in. Dallas and Nancy feel like a part of our family. We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
240
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I travel to Albuquerque every year to visit to family and decided to try a rural setting for my stay. Even thought I grew up in Old Town I have never spent any time in Corrales. Dallas & Nancy were away, but we were greeted by Barbara, who settled us in & made breakfast every morning. My sister stayed only one night but I was there for 4 nights. Every breakfast was delicious. I have stayed in many b&bs and this one has the most generous array of snacks & beverages available for guested that I have seen. Different baked goods were put out every day in addition to a large variety of other snack food. The property is beautiful - sensitively "xeriscaped" to respect the desert climate. The rooms were very comfortable and each had my favorite feature, a ceiling fan. And all of this for a very reasonable price. It is a bit of a drive into the city of Albuquerque, and rush hour traffic in Albuquerque is a horror. Nevertheless I did most of my driving in off hours and it was not a problem. The village of Coralles is quite rural (no street lights). When I was growing up in the '60's it was and still is an artist enclave with some interesting shops & galleries. There are pleasant places to eat a short drive from the b&b, particularly the Indigo Crow. I would stay here again, if only to have a chance to meet Dallas & Nancy. Highly recommended

Room Tip: I was in the Quail room which had the only bathtub & a fine desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melemelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. From the minute the door opened, I felt I had entered an oasis. Dallas and Nancy are incredible and made our time truly fantastic. The house is very relaxing, with a lovely garden and superb food. I recommend staying here on any trip to New Mexico.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunRowDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights here on our 30th anniversary trip in September, 2011. Nancy and Dallas (and Chris, who settled us in) were awesome! The property is so beautiful, with roadrunners, birds, and bunnies to amuse you. We stayed one night in the Quail room, then switched to the Bunny Room for 2 nights. The Bunny room is smaller, which was an adjustment, but that was ok. The property is so clean, and homey. There are some items for sale in the dining room (wooden pieces carved by a local artisan) that I wanted to purchase, and Nancy wrapped them up extremely well in bubble wrap for me (Thank you Nancy!)--every little bird and twig was safely wrapped for our journey home. (I appreciate that even more because I purchased a glass ornament at a store on the plaza, hand carried it in my carry-on and when I got home, it was shattered in a zillion pieces). Nancy also printed our boarding passes for us, made me a delicious special omelet without onions (since I am an onion-aphobe). Our flight home required us to get up early to get to the airport, and Nancy and Dallas made a special early breakfast just for DH and me--New mexican style eggs benedict with queso and fruit. They really made us feel at home here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciamannacce
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We are a family of three, my wife, my seven years son and I.

We spent fours nights there. Dallas, Nancy and Jeannie have always demonstrated a will to please each of us.

Guests before us praised great food, great rooms, peaceful rest, ideal location and they are right when using words like "wonderdul", "outstanding", "welcoming", "delightfull.

What I would like to stress is how they always manage to keep on with their guest issues: food allergies, things to do, warning about the weather and suggestions related to this, booking of a tour...

They pay interest in their guests and they are more than interesting people to get acquainted with.

We do thank them for our stay and really appreciated the way they run their business and the way they are.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galera_u_veru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illlinois
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Turtles, Quails and Roadrunners

When planning to visit the Albuquerque, NM area, it’s very easy to choose The Chocolate Turtle as your Bed and Breakfast. It is located northwest of Albuquerque in Corrales. It’s also conveniently located just a few miles down a quiet road from Albuquerque’s historic “Old Town.”

When driving onto the property, you’ll see how welcoming Dallas and Nancy have made their home and property. The front entrance is lined with luminaries. The interior is creatively decorated and the views from the back patio / breakfast area are spectacular. Their uniquely named rooms vary in size and decor. The main sitting room is huge, yet quaint.

Dallas and Nancy are eager to share information about the area, answer questions, and help make your visit outstanding. Their Trip Advisor ratings say it all.

“Made from scratch” breakfasts are delicious and vary each day. You’ll leave the table appreciating the care the Chocolate Turtle hosts have taken to satisfy you. During our 5 day stay in September, we were treated to morning wildlife visits by a few of the local quail, roadrunners. and hummingbirds among others. An afternoon treat is found in the well stocked “extra goodies” room.

After visiting their website and checking the numerous Trip Advisor ratings, you’ll agree with us that Dallas and Nancy provide a unique home away from home. I suggest you make your reservation over the phone to assure that you select the room that best meets your needs.

Room Tip: Book over the phone to choose the room that best meets your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualityGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamsville, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We spent two wonderful days at this Bed & Breakfast. Dallas and Nancy made us feel at home the moment we arrived. Coffee/tea and homemade cookies are a great treat after a day of traveling. The Sandia room has a first rate view of the mountains and the private patio was a great place to enjoy morning coffee. We enjoyed fantastic breakfasts while admiring Nancy's beautiful gardens. The roadrunners, bunnies and quail are fun to watch, too! Dallas was very helpful with tips on the best restaurants and convenient routes to attractions. We were treated like family or friends. Wonderful place to relax and experience all the southwest has to offer. Look forward to staying at the Turtle again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corrales
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Rio Rancho
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,652 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#37 of 144 in Albuquerque
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1098 W Meadowlark Ln, Corrales, NM 87048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Corrales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Corrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and relaxing is a perfect description of the Chocolate Turtle, a colorful southwest style B&B located in the Village of Corrales, a historic farming community in the Rio Grande river valley of New Mexico. Adjacent to Albuquerque and a short drive to Santa Fe, the Chocolate Turtle offers a wonderful view of the Sandia Mountain from its patio and portal. Most mornings you can enjoy breakfast while being entertained by the roadrunners and quail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chocolate Turtle b&b
Chocolate Turtle Hotel Corrales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing