We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place everyday”

Perea's Tijuana Bar
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Corrales
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place everyday”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

food is great,clenliness is good,people are very polite,and interesting.Very old restaurant,was a vegetable stand or small food store.Know its a bar restaurant,with great service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank homealone069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Place for a Mexican Lunch in Corrales”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As most Corraleans will tell you, the best place for a Mexican food lunch in Corrales is Parea's. This is essentially a bar up front - an old style, wooden, neighborhood bar. The restaurant area is back behind it - a reasonable - not too large - room with a small patio area off of it.

All this is set in a 200 year old building - originally built of mud brick rather than true adobe - that has been designated an official historical site in Corrales. This includes an interesting historical section that gives the history of the building complete with pictures and more. Worth seeing while you wait for your lunch to be delivered.

The menu is just a single page but what there is is quite good. i had a breakfast burrito myself - you can totally designate the ingredients - include this, omit that - which makes it fine for people with dietary concerns. (The list of foods i tolerate well seems to shrink in direct relation to my advancing age....) My daughter who was visiting from the New Orleans area of southern Mississippi had tacos of varying sorts.

The chili in true New Mexico style is meat and chili and the usual array of spices. You want bean, you can ask that they be mixed in but if you order something with chili what you will get is a meat - beef - mixture with chili in it. You can ask for it hotter or milder and with more or less chili. The green i found to be mid-range - not too spicy but with some kick to go along with that great flavor of fresh roasted chili.

The flan for dessert was terrific as well.

A word - you look for Parea's on the east side of Corrales road - the main drag through the Village. That's the side toward the river and the mountains. Best to park in the back and enter through the door on the south side of the building.

Parea's is the place we locals go for a decent Mexican food lunch (or the bar if that's what you're looking for). The bar is just that - a very nice setting but no pinball machines or billiard tables or socializing centers - an attractive old style bar is what that is. The restaurant behind is picturesque and the food - which is what you're going for if you're going for lunch - is pretty good - and New Mexico style as opposed to the ubiquitous American "Tex-Mex" style.

Recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real New Mexican Cuisine”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'm in the 13th generation of a New Mexico family that has exacting expectations of New Mexican food and the traditions practiced in its preparation. Perea's is the rare restaurant that serves New Mexican food in the classic form. Their chile (red and green) is full-bodied and flavorful, their sopapillas have a nice light flake over the cooked dough and their red chile enchiladas are to die for. There's no pretension in the food - it's the real deal. I have, on occasion, taken a bite, closed my eyes and imagined the smile on my grandmother's face when she served us the same meals. Perea's is the only restaurant I know of that can conjure that marvelous memory.

I'm still anticipating the long-promised dinner service, but for now it remains a lunch-only restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewMexicoNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
325 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great green chile cheesburgers!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Still one of the best hole-in-wall old places in Corrales! Try a green chile cheeseburger for sure!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have seen this place for years but didn't realize it was a restaurant. We thought it was just a bar. We were hungry for red chile and we were driving through Corrales and we saw alot of cars parked in the back and we thought we would check it out and to our surprise it was a restaurant, too in an old adobe house that had seating outside. We chose a table outside to enjoy the beautiful weather. We had an amazing waitress and we had some of the best red enchiladas we have ever had..We will be back! So glad we checked it out..we love Corrales and we love many of the restaurants there so now we have another one on our "love" list!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freereignministries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perea's Tijuana Bar also viewed

 

Been to Perea's Tijuana Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing