We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty dang good”
Review of Fat Boys Barbecue

Fat Boys Barbecue
Ranked #39 of 90 Restaurants in Clovis
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty dang good”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I am happy this place is in Clovis. I don't really like most of the restaurants in this town, but this one is pretty good. They have a good selection, good prices, a nice atmosphere and their food isn't bland like most of the places in this area. I go back frequently and love it there. I haven't met anyone who didn't like it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ellijay
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

the food was real good, staff was friendly, prices were about average.
I will go back again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellijay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
786 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Not much of a BBQ place”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were just passing through Clovis for a night and wanted BBQ. Given the name of the restaurant, we were surprised by how little BBQ there is on the menu. Our chopped brisket sandwich, fries, and green salad were not bad, but certainly not worth a return trip. I don't know what else Clovis has to offer, but I have had much better beef BBQ in Oregon. On a Friday night, the place was loud and busy. The service was quite good for the busy-ness.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for Clovis, mediocre elsewhere”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The service is good, and so is the food! I suggest the brisket nachos or the green chili cheese fries.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, attentive waitresses, and love the atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

You have got to try the Firecrackers! If you like green chili, you will love these little bites of heaven! They batter and deep fry whole green chilies, then serve with a cheeze-y dip! Oh my gosh, yum! The burgers are amazing too! They offer fried okra as a side, love this, and the Baby Back Ribs are delish! Must try the hot BBQ sauce tho. WOW! The salads are huge and unique. I love the Greek Salad with feta dressing. Oh, and don't forget the brisket nachos!

This place is just what a home town restaurant should be. They even have a band on the first Thursday of the month. Good variety of draft beer to drink while you listen to the music. We love this place and go there frequently.

The waitress look so cute in their shorts and cowboy boots too.!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Boys Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Fat Boys Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing