We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
27
18
11
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
18
11
11
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 78 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2017

friendly staff. nice hot water for shower. great location. our room had no windows!! poor lighting in the room. shabby furniture. dirty carpeting and the sofa was horribly stained. little housekeeping. bathroom had a cool bathtub/shower, but the safety bar was barely attached to the wall. room smelled musty, as did the bed linens. we stayed over new year's, and received a bottle of wine! but I expect more cleanliness, safety and a window to the outside!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016

As first time visitors to Cloudcroft, NM we wanted to ensure we were in the midst of what the town had to offer so we chose a one night stay in the "downtown" area at the Cloudcroft Hotel. We wanted a balcony room and although it was more room than we expected or needed, having two double beds, a kitchenette and dining table, we were comfortable and felt quite at home. The stove is an antique stove that has been retro-fitted with an electric hot plate. Great for being able to cook your own meals and feast economically. The check in process happens at the gift store downstairs, if you are late for check in keys are left with the code in a key drop box.
The Cloudcroft Hotel is right next to the famous Western Bar and makes for an easy transition after a few too many! We were concerned about noise from the bar next door but found once we turned in and had closed our balcony door, no trouble sleeping and they closed at a reasonable hour for our Friday night stay. The rest of the downtown closes early at dusk, which is a little disappointing but reasonable in that most folks are ready to settle in and be up on the town or out on the slopes early.
The staff is friendly and helpful, but don't expect first class services. It's a historical hotel that is casual and meant for a cozy stay in the west side downtown area. We have no complaints for our one night stay and look forward to opportunities to come back.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front of the hotel give you a nice view and personal retreat
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pearcemail3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

There were dead insects in all of the windows, one shower had the water cut off because they said it wasn't working. The other shower handle popped right off when I touched it. Water was scalding hot or ice cold. No TV's in the bedroom, one tiny one in sitting area. Dirty rag left by the sink. The mattresses were all hard as a rock, and the pillows were flat as cardboard. When I checked out, I said that we weren't happy with the room, and the attendant didn't care, didn't even ask what was wrong. When I told her about the issues, "Oh, sorry" was all she said three times. For $200, this is a total scam. Do not waste your money. Will not return. I'll stay in Alamogordo next time for a better room and 30 mins away.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2016

shabby, very poor wi fi, no heat need electric heaters in room, overall uncomfortable and pricey since it's the only game in town. On line it looked like a quaint old cowboy hotel, its more like a shabby rooming house with ancient furniture.

Room Tip: better options a few miles down the road
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank traveling-images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We decided that we needed a mental health day so we figured we had stayed at the Cloudcroft Hotel before and it would be a good bet, WRONG! We checked in around 4:30 the office closes at 5:00 p.m.
As I was carrying luggage up and down to the room they asked if everything was okay and assuming it would be, I said yes. As the clock struck 5:00 everyone in the office/gift shop were gone like scalded dogs. No one staff wise remains after they depart.
We were meeting friends for an early dinner, so we didn’t really pay much attention to the room. Now the morning discoveries (you will need to see the pictures to follow the story they may not be in order but you will get it: First there was no coffee just the dirty sink for the coffee. The coffee pot was equally dirty and doesn’t close properly. Second was this black thing on the counter with the fridge that said Mouse Trap, as you can tell there was plenty of food scattered from previous occupants on the counter and under the fridge, where if it was a trap they had no need to seek food from it.
Next up my wife thought she wanted to soak in the claw tub, notice the picture and what you can’t see is the hair and dirt under the shower mat, she opted to wait till we got home to use our tub. Next is the toilet seat that is so nasty I suggest two layers of clothing to lean back against it. It was cold in the morning so we turned the ceiling fans off this is how they look. Between the fuzz on them and the baseboards you could knit a sweater. The balcony which is the reason you pay $180.00 a night has furniture that is falling apart and a window box that is used for a big ash tray that isn’t maintained. The next 2 pictures are the pleasant view from the balcony.
Last picture is the in room heater which we were going to use because the temperature was in the low 40’s. Well the heater either was shut off or doesn’t work and from the looks of the dust and dirt on it, might have caught on fire anyway. Maybe it should be advertised as an in room fire place instead?
All this being said I firmly believe the housekeeping staff and management truly need an overhaul; and the owner needs to put some money in to correct these obvious defects. We DO NOT recommend anyone staying here unless you take the time to do their jobs and inspect very closely where you are staying.

Room Tip: Read the review not too sure there is a good one. Bring your own cleaning supplies.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimWW_ELP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews