We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating and Watering Hole”
Review of Western Bar

Western Bar
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Cloudcroft
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eating and Watering Hole”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Bar - good food and beer selection, friendly staff and patrons (well, except the obnoxious redneck one table over!). Nice way to relax with some NM beers, food, and even work on my laptop some. After mountain bike ride, or just sitting around - all good.

Cafe - good food, though the red chile on the huevos rancheros was a bit weak and store-bought in flavor...but fresh tortilla and everything else primo. Cafe coffee - decent. Portions moderate, not too much or too little.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    88
    38
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food and drinks”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

the cafe and bar has dollar bills all over walls. we had the clubs with wheatberry bread. great.... everyone helped when you need somethings. drinks are good. now on hoildays they are very very busy so you may have to wait for food a little longer. other days are fast. we had breakfast too. lot of food on plate. friendly and will go back..... they take cash only when we was there......

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank patricia1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Huevos Rancheros in my entire LIFE!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If I were rich, I would hire the cook, Sammy, to be our own personal chef! OMG! The food was so good, we were both overstuffed and still couldn't stop eating it! The chile had just the perfect amount of bite to it and everything else was cooked to perfection! We will be eating there again! Compliments to the chef and the staff! Well done!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigMeanie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Based on reviews we tried breakfast - it was great - almost as good as home. The service was outstanding. We will do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidmcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Burger and Santa Fe Chicken”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had an early dinner at the Western Cafe while staying in Cloudcroft. The staff was cheerful and friendly. Husband ordered a single patty hamburger on sour dough bread, but got a burger on a regular bun. The waitress was sweet, apologizing and offering to take the plate back to fix, but husband said it was no big deal. The burger was a big deal, huge and delicious. Husband had to cut it in half to pick it up. He was glad he did not order the double patty. I had the Santa Fe chicken: grilled chicken breast topped with tomato and cheese, served with guacamole. Very good. When I asked for a refill on my draft beer, the waitress brought the wrong beer. She fell all over herself apologizing, brought me another beer immediately, and left the wrong beer for husband, no charge. We had a nice meal. I would recommend the Western Cafe to anyone for a casual meal,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjgSpringTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Bar also viewed

 

Been to Western Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing