We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Tall Timber Cabins

Tall Timber Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cloudcroft
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tall Timber Cabins
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We came here for Thanksgiving week and had a great time. No, the cabin is not top of the line and the decoration is a little out of date but that is not what we traveled 12 hours to New Mexico for. We went for the surroundings and nature that were wonderful. Tall Timbers is not right off the main highway, so you have your fair share of wildlife and an excellent view of pine-tree filled hills right out the door. The owners were very helpful and kind. The only problem we had was the knobs on the stove had fallen off so it was difficult to cook but we managed. Miss Cloudcroft already and I'm ready for the next trip back!

PS- We even got a couple surprise snow showers : )

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

If you are expecting a great get away in the mountains without a lot of fancy stuff, this is it. Although the interior is dated, we were warm, comfortable, and felt at peace in the mountain getaway. It is a great value and we will look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We booked four nights and brought our children to Cloudcroft to play in the snow. They have never seen snow before. The manager should have been my first clue that this was going to be unpleasant. He was very abrubt and unfriendly. We were assigned the cabin (a duplex) next to the office. The decor is very 1970s but we figured it would do. We finally got the place warmed up and settled in. My husband tried to take a shower but the hot water was very inconsistent. Then the beds were awful! I moved from the bed to the couch to the floor, while my husband went from bed to recliner. Then I tried to take a hot bath in the morning and the water temp took my breath away. When it is freezing outside I have no desire to take a COLD bath. Then I had to rig the drain so the bathtub water would drain. We left that morning and moved to a hotel in Ruidoso. Hopefully the owner will at least refund part of my trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TexasG1RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Surly manager should have been my first clue! We kept our clothes and shoes on at all times due to the fact that the beds and carpets were so old and filthy. Four adults had to share one roll of toilet paper for 2 days/nights. Allergies were heightened by growing mold out of the ceiling of one bedroom. Furniture, no doubt, was taken from area trash dumpsters...and towels were 30 grit sandpaper. We have been to Cloudcroft, many times, and noticed that even The Lodge had poor service and the one and only gas station's attendant was incredibly rude. We are looking for a new mountain get-away...as Cloudcroft has been officially crossed off our list of vacation escapes.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank basslakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed in cabin 6 and had a great time. we were not loking for city glamor or the waldorf astoria but just a good quiet cabin and we found it. the firplace was great adn although the room had central heating the fire was comforting and was easily lite adn very easy to keep going. David brought fire wood every day , it was great to go out and get cold and then come back in like a fire and sit there and watch its light as you warmed up.
The cabins are older but still very nice and comfortable. All of the pots adn pans and towels and sheets were provided and adequate. From the porch of this cabin you can see three different directions and was great. The owners were great people and very friendly.

We can"t wait to go again. We are going this Christmas thru new years for 8 nights. Hope it snows a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank logan4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2005

Rustic is an understatement for ths place. The decor (circa 1970) is beyond tired -- it's worn. We didn't have enough plates and utensils for 4 people. The pots and pans left a lot to be desired, along with cooking utensils. There weren't even paper towels. The owner barely said hello, much less tried to be warm and inviting. We live only a few hours away and this was a last minute trip. There are far better places to stay than this. While everything was clean, the towerls and sheets were hard, old and a bit threadbare. Everything needed a serious overhaul.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MsEditor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2005

We have stayed at the Tall Timber cabins on trips to Cloudcroft for years but this time was our last...although the cabins are fairly nice there are some problems with them. The problems seem to be common to all the cabins as we have stayed in several of them.

The good points of the cabins are that the beds are comfortable, there is a good furnace/heating system, and they are fairly roomy. They provide a range, refrigerator, coffee maker, and toaster in the kitchen.

One problem though with the kitchen...they claim it is fully equipped but this is not really the case. The pots and pans and dishes are old and well-worn. We had found that out in the past and brought our own pans but this time there was hardly any silverware! We bought some forks and spoons at the thrift store in Alamogordo so we could eat that night.

Also there is some problem with the fireplaces. There is no damper in them and it is very difficult to keep a fire burning even with good dry wood.

The worst problem was that the hot water heating system was pretty inadequate. There was enough hot water for one person to take a quick shower but after that you would start to get really cold water, and it took a long time to heat back up. Also the towels were really old, rough and worn (but clean.)

Also the cabins are located very steep up a hillside and the steps can get icy...it can be difficult/dangerous to get up the steps sometimes.

The cabins are clean but do show their years of age...ceilings are yellow from years of smoke, carpet is burned from hot embers from fireplaces.

We will stay at a different group of cabins on our next trip to Cloudcroft.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank nipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cloudcroft hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusty Boots Motel
Dusty Boots Motel
#2 of 6 in Cloudcroft
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Inn
Summit Inn
#3 of 3 in Cloudcroft
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crofting Inn
The Crofting Inn
#1 of 3 in Cloudcroft
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lodge Resort and Spa
The Lodge Resort and Spa
#3 of 6 in Cloudcroft
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Cabins

Address: 1102 Chatauqua Canyon Blvd., Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Cloudcroft
Price Range: $68 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Cabins Hotel Cloudcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing