We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique experience for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is an old historic hotel - a good stay to experience it for one night. Our room had two queens and was quite nice. The beds were very soft and needed to be replaced.
Very small bath - room had lots of quirks you would expect with an older hotel. With taxes, the room was about $160., overpriced for what we got. But Cloudcroft and this historic hotel is a unique experience, but only for one night. The restaurant looked to be quite pricey - over $100. for two with a glass of wine, taxes, and gratuities.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasZuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    99
    42
    34
    15
See reviews for
58
147
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We arrived after a 6 hour drive from Tuscon to find nobody able to help with our luggage. There are no elevators. Our room was dated rather than historic, and also tiny. We dined in Rebecca's restaurant on-site which had little choice for vegetarians and was over-priced. The service was not great and the atmosphere was stuffy and formal. Nobody staying here seemed to be under the age of 60 years. Don't be fooled by the spa facilities - the pool is very chlorinated and small; the hot tub was non-existent; the gym is in a little wooden shed; and the sauna can fit just 2 people inside it. The hotel is trading on its so-called 'historic status' when if fact this label is just an excuse to cater for seniors who do not mind its lack of refurbishment and 21st century amenities. They even charge you for the pretentious brand of water in your room. We stayed at a basic motel the previous nights and got our water for free.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mexicanhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Good: It was a nice historic hotel and it was interesting. It was a decent value for the money.
Not so Good: Having third floor accomodations without an elevator is not too relaxing. The small room was a little too much like Grandma's attic. It was easy to see that the Golf Course and Spa were superior; but a nice garden area with comfortable furniture would have done much more to please me. No hot tub (broken?) was a let down and they had sure cranked up the heat on the pool on very warm days.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jallaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westtexas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

My family Loves the Lodge. we spend 4th of July there every year, and our main goal is to relax, and not have any plans. I have a 16 yr ols, 12 and 13 yr olds. they all three love the lodge also. My son plays golf, and my girls and I go to the spa. It is a wonderful place to escape the heat in Texas. I'm surprised, there are several "bad" reviews. we have been going there for 5 years, spending 4 or 5 nights, and never have experience rude staff. Know before you go- I would never accept a room at the "pavillion" it is .5 mile down the street, and I mean straight down. we don't stay in the main building either. there is another building called the "retreat" that is across the parking lot. The Lodge is our destination, not a stopover. Maybe you need to stay a few days to really "get it"

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morewesttexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

I would have given this facility a higher rating except for:

There are no elevators in the lodge. For people that are in their 70's at an altitude of 8600' it is demanding to climb 3 floors. That fact was not noted anyplace on their website.

When we arrived, the air conditioner in the room did not work. It was necessary to move us to another room. All facilities in the room should have been checked to ensure that everything was in good order. Not to have done so is, in my opinion, inexcusable.

Even though I have been critical of two items I must say that it is a beautiful facility with a breathtaking view of the trees and mountains. I would like to stay there again, but only on the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

When we booked, we thought we were staying in the Lodge building itself. But when we got there, we were informed we'd be staying in the pavillion half a mile down the road. No one had told us this in advance and their website didn't say anything about it. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It took about 10 minutes for the hot water to get hot and I thought the shower was too small. Their restaurant had a really good breakfast for a decent price. The whole experience was ok, and now we can say we've been there, but I don't think I'd stay there again. It just wasn't worth the money.

  • Liked — it's a very pretty location
  • Disliked — it's too expensive for what you get
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Julious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuqueruque, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

We heard good things about The Lodge from family who had enjoyed their previous visits. When I booked the room, the reservation agent described the room as accross the road from the lodge. We were disappointed to discover that the room was actually 0.5 miles down the road toward the village in a building called the Pavillion. The Pavillion had all the characteristics of a mediocre motel including a worn out bed, cheap linens, and paper thin walls. I felt the room was a poor value for the rate.

The only saving grace was the breakfast back at The Lodge. The food and service were excellent and we enjoyed looking around the historic location.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_in_ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
0.4 mi away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
23.9 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
13.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Property: The Lodge Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic resort that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing