We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
2 reviews
“Awesome Views”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was traveling with my boyfriend for a long weekend and we stayed here at night while taking day trips to other sites in New Mexico. If you are looking for rustic, this is the place. The Lodge has character and a very friendly and accomodating staff. The restaurant was also very nice with good menu selections and great service. We stayed at The Pavilion, across the road from the main building. The room was large and had sufficient amenities. It is in close proximity to several spots along the road where you can pull off and take in the views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank You for choosing The Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and the kind comments. We hope to serve you again. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    101
    45
    35
    16
See reviews for
61
155
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

wonderfull old resort that also caters to B & B type folks or couples who just want to get away from it all.... yes US highest golf course out back too.
very old building but still has its original character... so don't complain about little details.
Restaurant has very good menu and piano music on weekends... might be slow when crowded but we got great service before the rush... breakfast was great.

Room Tip: room 243 is corner room so you get both sunrise and sunset light views... although I think the ghost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It is very rewarding to hear you had a good time at The Lodge. We aren’t actually the highest golf course; according to GolfWorld.com we’re the 5th highest in the United States. The room tip is priceless! Thank You for taking the time to share your experience and tips. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were traveling with a pet so stayed in 'The Pavilion' vs The Lodge. It was rustic to say the least. It was paneled throughout (including the ceiling), so quite dark; the bed was not very good; and there was no decent reading light in the room...which was quite small. We had breakfast in the Lodge Dinning Room in the morning. While the food was good (excluding the over-baked and dried-out biscuits) and sufficient to start the day; the service was VERY slow...and there were only 4 other guests in the room when we arrived! (I would hate to be there when they had a full house!) Our waiter was not very attentive; but the busboy was great! On the plus side; the location is beautiful and the lodge is a grand old 100+ year old building. We always enjoy staying in Victorian B&B's around the country and abroad and know not to expect many of the amenities found in more modern hotels; but this was a big disappointment for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiGirl107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank You for sharing your experience and giving us constructive feedback. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate managers and will be used for training. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I wrote a separate review of the hotel restaurant and bar "Rebecca's," this is just for the hotel. My girl and I spent our very first weekend together at the Lodge a little over a year ago. This year I called several weeks ahead of my visit to plan the perfect romantic getaway to set the stage for my marriage proposal to my now fiancée. Neal Macfarland, the reservationist, was incredibly helpful in getting everything ready. I bought a package deal that included two night stay, dinner, breakfast, and a couples massage. He also scheduled a tee time for me on their golf course. He also helped me set up the proposal in the hotel's tower. After I made all the plan's for the proposal he called to tell me that the tower was decorated for Halloween and was probably not the best setting for a proposal. I was really set on proposing in the tower so I asked if it was possible to get the decorations out for just that night. He said he would have to talk to Lisa, the General Manager. Lisa called me several days later and was incredibly sweet and generally amazing. We were able to work out a deal to get the Halloween decorations out of the tower! What amazing staff! I was so surprised that they truly did put the customer first!

Anyway, the room I booked was the Governor's Suite. The room was stunning when we got there and they had champagne (well, New Mexico Sparkling Wine) waiting for us in the room. The Lodge is unlike anyplace you will ever stay in your life. When you first walk in, the main room has a gorgeous fireplace with a fire crackling. The rooms are smaller than your basic hotel, but it is very quaint and extremely romantic. If you are in the area you must at least drop in to see The Lodge, even if you can't stay.

If you like to play golf, you must see this course. Some holes are really challenging, but it is a great course!

I don't get massages, so I can't really judge if my massage was good or not...but it felt great to me. My Fiancée said that it was on the best massages she has ever had.

In summary, The Lodge will always be special to me and my future wife. We are planning our next stay around Christmas time and we will be brining my sister and brother-in-law with us. If you go to The Lodge just ask the front desk for the key to the tower. Don't leave until you see the view.

Room Tip: The Governor's Suite is absolutely amazing! Our first stay was in a Parlor Suite, and it was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We can’t express enough how honored we are to have been a part of your special memory. These moments are the greatest reward for us. Thank You for taking the time to share your review. We’ll see you and your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I had a chance to stay overnight at The Lodge recently, having won a silent
auction for accommodation and also the Sunday Brunch.
We live in Las Cruces NM so a chance to get out of the heat was very welcome,.We arrived early for our 4pm check in but were able to get our room early. The front desk staff were very friendly and asked if we were ok with a room on the third floor.(there are no elevators). We are relatively fit so it did not bother us. The room was small as most turn of the century properties were, but prettily decorated with Victoriana and antiques. Water was hot , bed comfortable and lovely view from the dormer window of the forest.
Unfortunately the antique chairs were rickety,one had a loose rung the other a busted spring so a bit risky sitting down
The décor of the hotel is interesting , reminiscent of hunting lodges with stuffed animals heads mounted in the great room and a huge fireplace ,which would be lovely on a snowy winters day.
If you are not a golfer , we are not , there isn't much in the way of grounds to explore ,however the forest and town is close by and there are hikes and a few shops to check out.
Good for an overnight stay but not longer in my books.

Room Tip: If you cant climb ask for a room on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbritjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to Cloudcroft to do some hiking which can be a bit challenging for lowlanders at 9000 ft! We found the Lodge beautiful and charming, and often sat out in the back soaking in the warm fire pit by the pool. The free breakfast was wonderful and the star gazing at night was amazing. We stayed at the Pavilion which was very quiet and within walking distance of everything, although the walk up to the Lodge for breakfast was a bit of a challenge! We'd come back for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tosawest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Lodge is a place that you would expect to stay at when you visit Cloudcroft NM. You are at near 9000 feet above sea level, and the forest is so pretty and the air is so clean and when you stay at the lodge, it just feels right. They didn't have any rooms available in the main lodge, so I was put up in the Pavillion just a 1/4 mile down the road, and it was great. It had the feel of a cozy little log cabin, which was just perfect. Breakfast was included and it was very tasty and the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint I had was that when I checked in there was a large spider in my shower and then the next morning there was another large spider on the ceiling in the bathroom. My stay was very quick, as I was just in need of a place to sleep for the night. But from what I saw, its decent. I didn't see the ghost of Rebecca, but I overheard some people talking near me at breakfast and they saw her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
0.4 mi away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
78 reviews
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
13.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
369 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
13.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Property: The Lodge Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic resort that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing