We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kokopelli Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Kokopelli Lodge in Clayton, New Mexico is the best of the best chain. They welcome our dogs (fee charged) with a doggie bag of treats, and have a little doggie park for taking care of business. They do extra cleaning in rooms where pets have stayed. The breakfast includes biscuits, fried potatoes, real eggs, sausage, gravy, salsa, fresh cinnamon rolls, yogurt - and it all tastes great. There are so many small niceties to the rooms and the southwestern decor is in excellent taste. When we are on the road, we just keep driving until we reach Clayton.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 553 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Drove from Telluride CO via Taos NM to here and luckily stumbled on the BW when about to go back to the little Motel at the entrance to Clayton. The whole place had a real Indian flavour which was delightful and different to your normal bland rooms.The place was clean and comfortable with fluffy towels and quite rooms and had a great nights sleep. It wasn't the cheapest BW but I can comfortably say it had one of the best Breakfast we had during our 6 week trip. Suffice to say , the B'Fast room was pleasant , well decorated , the food was well presented , the coffee hot , the staff attentive and it all made for a great start to the day and for the long drive ahead to OK City via Dodge City KA !!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a non-smoking , pet free room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We wanted a pet friendly hotel for a pleasant overnight rest that is near the halfway point between our summer and winter residences. This hotel works nicely for us in location, amenities and special needs. The dbl queen suite is as spacious as a Residence Inn w/o the kitchen. We've sampled the appealing breakfast buffet in a convenient clean dining room. The staff is pleasant. Wide screen TV, comfortable beds, large bathroom, usable sitting area and a clean ambiance meets our creature comfort standards. Nominal pet fees, free pet treats, a doggie park and doors opening directly to the outside keeps Trevor and Gus in good spirits. If I had my druthers, I would like an elevator, digital TV and lots more channels. The parking is forced, but I haven't ever had to park in the overflow gravel lot. We'll be back halfway on the return leg this Spring.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank THOMAS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Don't let the older appearance of the hotel keep you from staying here. The rooms were updated and decorated in a native motif. Probably the best value was breakfast. It was almost like staying at a B&B. Nice hot breakfast with very good coffee (hard to find in a motel that offers complimentary breakfasts). There were also fresh homemade cinnamon rolls.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

On our way to see our son for Thankgiving and found this oasis. What a pleasant surprise! Well maintained, CLEAN beautifully appointed rooms. Professional and friendly staff. Wonderful "real" breakfast.
Can't wait to see the finishing touches. We made a point to stop by and use this hotel on our way back home to Colorado.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

There are many lower priced motels in Clayton, but the Kokopelli Lodge has exceptional service (the late night clerk was great) and rooms. The room was clean, had great pillows, comfortable bed. Love the native crafts they have for sale and the breakfast is above average. I will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank markmmtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at this motel a couple of times as half-way point between Okla. and Colo. Rooms always updated and clean. Toiletries are first class. Breakfast buffet is great. Nice selection of Southwest gifts in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to be on the bottom floor in a larger room. It was well worth it as the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMBSayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eklund
Hotel Eklund
#3 of 5 in Clayton
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#5 of 5 in Clayton
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clayton Motel
Clayton Motel
#1 of 1 in Clayton
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kokopelli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kokopelli Lodge

Address: 702 S 1st St, Clayton, NM 88415-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $131 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kokopelli Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Kokopelli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clayton
Clayton Best Western
Best Western Kokopelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing