We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kokopelli Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a surprise! I travel a lot and this hotel was a gem compared to many hotels I have stayed in that are in big cities and cost much more! Newly remodeled, nice attractive furnishings, a comfortable bed, a refrigerator, and Crabtree and Evelyn products! One of the best free breakfast buffets we have ever seen with homemade breakfast items and friendly server.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skerns123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    136
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
215
169
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This small town has the best of the Best Westerns. Staff was friendly, they take dogs for a small fee but the pet area like the rest of the hotel was immaculate. Nice swimming pool and a "real" hot breakfast. Only one ting the wifi was weak but my 3G worked fine. Great overnight stop, for dinner, check out Si Señor taco truck but watch out for their tasty but Spicy salsa.

Room Tip: If you have pets 1st floor by pool and pet area is ideal and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNurseVenice_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After a rather long day of driving, we pulled into the Best Western Kokopelli Lodge, and there was a sign on the office door that said they were full. Boy was I glad I had made reservations! The hotel is clean and comfortable. Our room with 2 queen beds was on the small side, but adequate for an overnight stay. WiFi connection was a little slow, but otherwise fine. The breakfast room is pretty, but small and somewhat tricky to find, and it gets very crowded after around 8 a.m. Be sure to bring your breakfast ticket with you, and have the whole family come together to eat, because you get one breakfast ticket for the room. Good selection of food--Try the salsa on your eggs. Delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent the night here on our way to see the Capulin Volcano. The motel was beautiful with beautiful southwestern decor. The beds were very comfortable. The pillows were comfortable, and there were plenty of them. There is an outdoor heated pool, and even though we arrived right before a thunderstorm, and it was 60 degrees out and sprinkling when we went out to swim afterwards, because the pool was heated we still enjoyed our swim. There was a breakfast buffet included, with hot food. The only thing that wasn't perfect about the motel was that the room for breakfast was small and it was crowded, and you had to give the attendants a ticket for breakfast with your room number on it, which made it complicated for one person to stay at the table to watch over belongings while everyone else went to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms very clean. Nicely appointed with Natve Indian decor. The entire area VERY WELL maintained. Walled in outdoor pool area has very comfortable lounge chairs, fluffy towels. Hot, fresh breakfast. The green chili served at breakfast is some of the best! Train runs by every few hours, but with the air conditioner on, drowns out noise. Conveniently located. Gas station with food items across the street. Also, very nice liquor & wine store across the street.

Nice large grassy area with play ground for kids and outdoor tables. Pet area-cute- with a fire hydrant! The hotel has recently added large parking lot for trailers and truck parking.

Southwest items for purchase seem reasonably priced. Stayed three nights and every night they seemed to be full.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granbury, tx
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stopped here on the way from Texas to Colorado. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had a requested a pet friendly room, and it was ready for us. The room was clean and comfortable. The bath towels, nice and thick and fluffy. Our room was quiet, so that after a long day on the road we were able to get a good night's sleep. There was an area specified for walking dogs, with plastic bags for clean-up. Breakfast was good, but not great. This was a great place for an overnight on the road. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stay here once a year on a drive from Texas to Colorado. Love this hotel! Aesthetically pleasing and immaculate, attentive and friendly staff, essentially a full breakfast buffet included in price. Comfortable beds w nice linens and towels. On most recent stay we had a large room w king bed for $133 (which included a $10 pet fee). Wouldn't think of going elsewhere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BabyBlueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eklund
Hotel Eklund
#3 of 5 in Clayton
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#4 of 5 in Clayton
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clayton Motel
Clayton Motel
#1 of 1 in Clayton
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kokopelli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kokopelli Lodge

Property: Best Western Kokopelli Lodge
Address: 702 South First Street, Clayton, NM 88415-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kokopelli Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kokopelli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clayton
Clayton Best Western
Best Western Kokopelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing