We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Haven in Northeastern New Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful Haven in Northeastern New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel is a gem in the Best Western system. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are delightfully decorated in a New Mexican theme. They provided Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries in the room. The lobby has gorgeous jewelry and gifts from the region for sale. The breakfast was delicious and the attendant insured that everyone had what they wanted. The owners were there and interacted with the guests. This should be rated a Best Western Plus as it was one of the nicest ones we have stayed in. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeandFrank11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    112
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
166
130
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here on the way back from a trip to Colorado. Thought about staying in Raton, but ended up at the Best Western in Clayton. All I can say is WOW! What a great property. It's quiet. super clean and as nice as any DoubleTree or similar hotel. Our room was a King suite with a spa tub. The bedding was superb, the spa was great & the room sparkled. Breakfast the next morning at the hotel (included) was above average for a free hotel breakfast. Sure beat the usual waffles and cereal offered at other places. This will be our new stopover spot. Just be sure and get a reservation, they stay booked all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, it's worth the upgrade charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Kokopelli Lodge is one of the greatest, small hotels I have visited in my life. It is in a small town in New Mexico kind of off the beaten track. Therefore, my wife and I were concerned with the quality of the hotel. Everything about the hotel was special and unique. The rooms were clean, very comfortable and in a American Indian motif, and the breakfast was excellent. Two things stood out for this hotel. First was the the staff, they were especially accomidating and pleasent. Second, was the pet friendly nature of the hotel. My wife and I take our dog with us on most trips and have years of experience staying at pet friendly hotels. Kokopelli Lodge gave us a bag of doggie treats when we checked in; a very nice, and personal touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardsona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The demise of the Eklund a few years back was painful for us, but the Kokopelli is such a great place that we no longer miss the old days at the historic hotel. Rooms are spacious, walls are thick so it is extremely quiet, lots of attention to detail, and some of the best beds we have experienced, including those in much more expensive places. The included hot breakfast is far beyond the normal cold cereal & waffle machine norm, and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get 1st floor room if you have much luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times. We travel through Clayton several times a year and this is our preferred hotel. We would like to stay in Dalhart, Texas, but will travel the extra miles at the end of a long day to stay at this hotel. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We are usually exhausted when we check in and they are so kind and get us checked in as fast as possible. The rooms are always clean and have been decorated in a nice southwestern style with nice tile flooring and nice bathroom counter-tops. All room have irons/ironing boards. coffeemakers, and hairdryers. There is a dog walking area outside that is the nicest I have ever seen. It even has it's own fire hydrant for the dogs. There is also a ver ice playground for children with a nice wooden jungle gym. The breakfast is very nice serving hot waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy, pastries, sausage, bacon, hash browns, juices, and coffee. We will continue to make this one of our preferred stops. We have never had one complaint. This is a pet friendly hotel. They even have treats for your pets :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redheadfreckleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Best Western in Clayton several times as it is a good resting point on our trips from Texas to Colorado and back. It is always been a comfortable, clean place to rest overnight. On this trip with our friends, it held up to it's past reputation with us. The rooms are nice and clean. The desk help is friendly and the morning breakfast was good. The green chili sauce they make locally is excellent.
Clayton was full of people on our night there due to Antelope season opening. As a result I checked rates at other hotels there and found that the rates were all about the same for those major locations. The Best Western is not the newest and best maintained property in Clayton and it may be time they recognize that in their rates. It has proven to be a good location for us several times. There is NO reason to pass the Best Western - but for the same rates I am looking hard at the newer more modern properties that have been built in Clayton next time - just to see.
An added note. If you have not been paying attention, look off the highway as you travel between Clayton and Raton for the Antelope that are generally visible in some barren locations - usually some 100-600 yards off the hightway - but occasionally near the roadway.

Room Tip: No elevator for second floor rooms if accessibility is a concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrankyOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

When we travel across the high plains, it's sometimes difficult to find a nice room. In fact we have often taken what's available (ick), but anytime we're heading to the southern Rockies, we route our trip through Clayton, NM. The Kokopelli is a little pricey compared to many motels, but we have always found the quality to be well worth it. Spotless rooms, beds in decent condition, a nice pool and landscaping for kids and pets, and very nice breakfast to start our travel the next morning. It's one of the best run "Best Westerns" we've run across.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TUFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eklund
Hotel Eklund
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#4 of 5 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge
Address: 702 S 1st St, Clayton, NM 88415-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clayton
Clayton Best Western
Best Western Kokopelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing