We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best lil hotel in the west What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eklund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eklund
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Richardson, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best lil hotel in the west What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Driving from Dallas to Denver I was driving through Clayton NM when I came up to the stoplight in the late afternoon. I glanced left and saw this old downtown hotel. I'm glad I turned around as it is a gem in this dustbowl area of the west. The pics I took don't convey how truly nice the building, the rooms, and the saloon/dining really are.
The owners and staff were so friendly I thought I was at my favorite Westin:) The room seemed like it was set in 1898 but was very clean and had everything I needed including a comfortable queen bed. The weather cooperated and I had a great beer sitting on the balcony outside my room overlooking main street. I ate at the hotel that evening and the steak was great but the best part was that chocolate sheetcake the owner made.
I'll finish with this about this hotel and other high quality boutique hotels in small towns; chains are great because they're homogenous, but you wake up the next day sort of missing your bed at home. I drove off from Hotel Eklund the next morning feeling like I had just experienced what was great about traveling in this country - great history, great architecture, and great hospitality. I'll stay again next time I'm in that area of the country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens to the large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    53
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
61
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

If you have right expectations, you will very much enjoy your stay. This is a cool old hotel in a cool old small town. It has all you need, including wi-if!

The hotel could use a $1M remodel, but that isn't going to happen soon. Enjoy the wear and tear... Save your spa experience for your next stay in another town!

Enjoy the old hotel and the history, enjoy the vibe you won't get at a chain.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This has become my new favorite hotel (and saloon). Traveling many days each year has me staying in the Marriott's, Hilton's, etc. but nothing beats this.

For the historic angle on this go read their website. I'll just cover the basics of my stay here.

After having driven past this hotel for 40 years I finally had the chance to stop and stay. Total bill for me was under $100. Room was on the 3rd floor and I used the stairs rather than the elevator - just because I like to take the stairs when possible. The room looks very good and has a bed, desk & chair, armoire (with TV) and a remodeled bathroom.

The bed was as comfortable as any I've slept in on the road (they said it was from Denver Mattress). Bathroom showed no signs of aging. However remember the hotel is more than 100 years old so accept the challenges: single-pane windows are not very energy-efficient so your room may be cold. I adjusted the heat and slept well.

The restaurant/saloon is awesome too. Had dinner (ribeye) and it was delicious.

Best of all: staying at most hotels benefits employees and shareholders but how often do you get to meet the people who you are supporting? The owner and front desk clerk were always friendly and eager to please. Just book a night here - whether or not you actually need to stay in Clayton. Go see the dino tracks and hanging site of Black Jack Ketchum (if you have time).

Room Tip: Train runs between 7am and 10pm and is about a block away so just enjoy it. Remember this is a trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, CO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Coming into Clayton NM at night, it's easy to imagine being a cowboy of a hundred years ago, searching for a warm and comfortable place to spend the night in the Texas Panhandle. The Hotel Eklund must have been like paradise. Today, with modern amenities added to the historical architecture, it still is a great place to aim for. You can get a good meal and a fine beer at 7 PM, maybe even later, and then spend the night in an original upstairs room.

For a meal, I suggest the chicken fajitas if they're available, or something with the mild red chile sauce. The staff regard each other as family, and they will treat you the same, chatting with you as you choose your meal.

The only thing I'd change about our recent experience would be the bed. It's quite firm if you are accustomed to a pillow top mattress. Perhaps this will change in the future.

Room Tip: A room in back is quieter and darker at night, but I really liked the balcony room in front. You hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Historic Eklund Hotel is beautifully remodeled, clean and comfortable. We stayed here just after the remodel in 2004 and again in 2013. The hotel has beautifully restored features, large clean rooms and a friendly staff. The restaurant (in the saloon) can be relied on for excellent food (the steak is always recommended, although the menu is diverse including Mexican offerings). Hot breakfast in the morning, not the usual rolls and cold cereal found in the big brand names. Quiche, homemade cinnamon rolls, toasted oatmeal and quesadilla bites ready to warm in the microwave - it was delicious and you can taste the extra love. If you find yourself traveling through Clayton NM, take time to spend the night at the Historic Eklund Hotel... the train does rumble through early in the morning but that is part of the old west charm.

http://hoteleklund.com/

Room Tip: If you need two double beds, room 207 has the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Ok
Level Contributor
206 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

If I were rating this just as an attraction I would give it 4 stars. Love the old hotel building, atmoshpere, and architecture. As an active hotel, it is lacking. This was our 3rd visit. My first review was entitled, Disappointed. Still am. Was talked into giving the hotel another try.
Made reservation and when we got there, they said we had cancelled. Had an argumentative desk person. Finally got a room. Again, for the price, it is not worth it. Also, after a long day, I wanted a nice hot shower. NO HOT WATER. Got up at 5:30 am the next morning thinking, there will be hot water for sure. NO HOT WATER. They claim the queen bed is a queen bed. Don't think so!! We left once again disappointed. And, the continental breakfast, per my wife, is a joke. Don't expect much out of the restaurant, but that is another review. I would suggest using the Best Western in Clayton. We have used Best Western 5 times and always pleased.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueturtle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Road trip from Oklahoma to Colorado and we made the little town of Clayton New Mexico. There are a number of standard hotels here, a Best Western, Super 8, etc and they are all basically similar, but we opted to stay in the turn of last century downtown hotel - The EKlund Hotel. It has a very nice decor, a saloon and restaurant and outdoor patio. It is probably not well suited for families with small kids, as the rooms are a bit small, but our second floor room had a door that let to the balcony over Main street. The balcony had tables and chairs where we could enjoy the afternoon. Fairly close to the tracks, but everything in Clayton is close to the tracks. The dinner and breakfast were as passable as likely anywhere else in town. Our rate was a sweet $75 per night compared to $130 for the Best Western. No pool, but lots of room in the lobby and lots of historical goodies to look at.

Room Tip: 206 was nice and the bed was comfortable and it has the door to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#4 of 5 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Motel
Clayton Motel
#1 of 1 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eklund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eklund

Property: Hotel Eklund
Address: 15 Main St, Clayton, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eklund 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eklund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklund Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing