We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great people, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eklund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eklund
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great people, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights at the eklund and everything was perfect. The staff was courteous and friendly, and the beer garden was a nice addition. The food was excellent (try the salmon tacos!) and the rooms were well appointed. Ask for a balcony room if they're available. Overall excellent experience, we recommend it to anyone passing through or just looking for a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
64
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room was very small with no frills at all. I night stand and 1 small room table and chair. Had to hang clothes under the TV on a little rod. Bathroom walls beside the sink were dirty and needed wiping down carpet stained and dirty., Service was terrible had to call a number to get someone to wait on us and check us in. If the owners would just up the service and maybe a few frills here and there it could be a fabulous place. Breakfast was a forlorn as the room. Sad this place has so much potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobisonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is truely a historic hotel. It is quite beautiful. The rooms are small but has the necessary amenties to be comfortable for the night. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. Now...why I'm basically not very happy. The service really disappointed me. When we got there, we had to ask for someone at the front desk. When she finally came, she appeared to be upset that she was bothered to come up front. After checking us in, she did seem to calm down and appear friendly. OK...I was willing to give them the benefit of a doubt. So then we went to our room and there were two bottles of water...one of which was almost (but not quite empty). YUCK! OK...another chance. Then we went to the restaurant and were told to sit anywhere. We sat right up front....the waitresses walked right past us for over 20 minutes. We had gotten our own menus and were ready to order when finally someone asked...has anyone helped you. I am so over this hotel. Again...the food was good and the hotel is pretty and the rooms comfortable...but I cannot rate it any better than this. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you are expecting a 5 star, modern hotel, you will be disappointed. If you are wanting a clean room, friendly folks, a relaxed atmosphere and historic experience, you will love it. We did hear the trains go by and the rooms are small, but the staff was very friendly and attentive. We had eaten and the restaurant in the hotel, but never stayed before. We will again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bighuff32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
274 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been passing through Clayton for 20 years and always noticed the Eckland. Just recently a family member suggested that the next time we were in Clayton at the right time, we stay at the Eckland. It is delightful. The lobby is beautifully decorated. The rooms have new furniture, and the bathroom is newly remodeled and clean.
We had a room which opened onto the second story balcony where we enjoyed the evening.
The dining room/bar was very busy.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a young man from Turkey by the name of Serhat. We really liked him.
Even though the hotel is at the intersection of a main highway, the room was quiet, and we got good night's sleep.
Breakfast was an interesting selection of continental fare. The best of the selection was a quiche, which had to be warmed in the microwave. After being warmed, it was the best quiche I have ever put in my mouth.
If you stay on Friday, Saturday or Sunday, the historic Luna movie theater is open with first-run selections. The Luna is on the register of National Historic Places.
There are a few tourist attractions nearby, such as dinosaur tracks, but Clayton is not necessarily a place to go and plan to stay very long. However if Clayton is on your route somewhere else, please consider staying at the Eckland.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story room facing the east. These have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is a historic gem. The whole facility is beautifully restored. If you would like to avoid the one star hotels for 110+ per night, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are spacious, very clean, comfy and home like. The staff is very professional, constantly making sure guest satisfaction is always the number one priority. The restaurant is is a cool saloon feeling room. They have great food and a good selection of beer and wine. If you like nostalgia, this place is for you. Also, an A+ on the staff in the restaurant. Overall I would recommend this establishment to anyone whom sin the Clayton area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefJdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We make a point to stay here on our trips to New Mexico. It is a refurbished historic hotel with comfortable accomodations and a small town feel. We have stayed here a number of times, and our room has always been very clean and comfortable, a thermostatic climate control system and roomy bathrooms.
This is a great place if you like the uniqueness of a bed and breakfast but without the forced intimacy of being in someone's 'home'. On the other hand, if you are a fan of the standardized homogeneity of fast food restaurants and the identical layouts and suburban feel of national chain motels, you may want to stay elsewhere. We also like the New Mexico cuisine and local craft brews served in the restaurant, saloon, and new outdoor patio.
Definently add the Eklund to your trip agenda next time you are anywhere near the area, and are looking for an enjoyable and memorable hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#5 of 5 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Motel
Clayton Motel
#1 of 1 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eklund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eklund

Property: Hotel Eklund
Address: 15 Main St, Clayton, NM 88415-3037
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eklund 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eklund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklund Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing