We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So glad the Eklund is open again!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eklund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eklund
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Coupland, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So glad the Eklund is open again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

After the Eklund was closed, we kept checking back to see if it was open again and finally were rewarded when it reopened earlier this year. We had our usual suite opening onto the balcony overlooking downtown Clayton. We enjoyed it and the restaurant. New owners and staff very helpful. We will continue making the Eklund a stop on our way from Central Texas to visit family in Colorado.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    40
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
54
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Did not stay at hotel but had dinner. Food and service was were excellent. Nicest place in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teebee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lascrucesnm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff is knowledgeable, warm and welcoming. Terrific food (they currently serve lunch and dinner) and the New Mexico wines are a nice touch. The downstairs and dining room are awesomely over-the-top western Victorian (you can also eat in the saloon), but the rooms are true to the heyday of this historic railroad hotel, comfortable and uncluttered. The bathrooms are immaculate. There are no coffeemakers in the rooms, but good coffee (and real milk) is available 24/7 at the check in desk, and there's the delightful Crossroads Coffee just up the street. Don't miss the breakfast burritos at Mary's Back Door Deli!

Room Tip: The hotel is there because of the railroad, which is nearby. There will be the sound of trains going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldWomanTravelsAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the Eklund Suite with the front balcony. It was wonderful. Great bed and bedding and the bathroom is charming. They have done a great job redoing it. The restaurant is wonderful as always and we will be looking forward to the breakfast menu! until next time....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thekeysdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stopped for dinner on our way home from colorado. The hotel was beautiful and very historic. food was great. I hope we can stay there on the way or way back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracieB_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I had previously stayed at the Eklund Hotel on my way to Taos, New Mexico. We stayed there the very week it reopened. Keeping in mind that they were still in the process of getting the saloon reopened, the restaurant back up to speed, and the computer system on track, it was a bit disorganized, but well worth the confusion. We were placed in a lovely two-bed unit on the second floor balcony. The place was clean and the beds very comfortable. The price was definately right! It was $50. less than the other two major hotels in town. The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast yet, and the menu was limited, but there's a great local coffee shop on the next streetcorner that had great breakfast burritos and wonderful coffee. Try it again. I think you'll like it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattracks6204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We did not stay, but dined in the restaurant and it was really great! The atmosphere is like stepping back in time to an elegant hotel of the 1800's. We were a bit ashamed to be wearing blue jeans, but everyone else had them on. The "Surf N'Turf" dinner was delicious and had very generous portions. The service was very attentive. Everything was superb, so much so that my mom said, "Now that we have experienced this, we may as well turn around and head home!"

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D2CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kokopelli Lodge
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clayton
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Clayton
Super 8 Clayton
#4 of 5 in Clayton
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eklund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eklund

Property: Hotel Eklund
Address: 15 Main St, Clayton, NM 88415-3037
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eklund 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eklund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklund Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing