We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cimarron B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This 100-year-old grand ranch house makes a great bed-and-breakfast. The setting, surrounded by the Philmont National Boy Scout Ranch, brought back memories for me of being there with my parents and as a scout decades ago. The houise is set close to the looming Tooth of Time outcropping, which you can gaze at from a seating area at the back. The Nairn room we had, the largest in the place, was very comfortable and spacious. The public rooms also were good and comfortable, and the breakfast hearty. The only drawback was not anyone's fault: We awoke to an early fall snow, about four inches worth, that knocked out power. The power outage kept the water pump from working right and delayed breakfast, but the innkeepers worked hard to make up for it, even accompanying us as we left on the mile or so from the house to the front gate to make sure we didn't get stuck in the snow. Overall, it was a good value in a spectacular setting at the base of the Sangre de Christos.

Room Tip: Nairn is the only room with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would highly recommend if your staying in the Cimarron, NM area that you consider the Casa del Gavilan if you like a Bed & Breakfast. This was an amazing B&B in a wonderful location with great views of the mountains and the "Tooth of Time". Jo, our host fixed a fantastic breakfast and made sure we had a great stay. The Casa along with its history and furnishings were like stepping back in time to earlier days in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. There is a large courtyard area with fountains and flowers which add to the beautiful, quiet setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, NH
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here in 2005 with our 3 kids, who were quite small then. We had a giant room for all of us. The staff fixed us amazing breakfasts every morning. Loved this B&B. My kids loved driving through Philmont Boy Scout Ranch and seeing all of the deer and buffalo everyday. It was amazing. I highly recommend this B&B. I would love to go back. Great central location to Taos and a lot of other amazing areas of NM.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Casa was a wonderful getaway on our latest trip to New Mexico. The sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking and we enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard among the flowers and hummingbird moths. Our room was recently repainted and the original cottonwood of the vigas was renewed. The mixture of history and natural beauty was so unusual and makes this a very unique B & B. Breakfast was outstanding and mingling with the other guests made our stay that much more memorable. Next time we plan to stay longer to take in everything the Casa has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nairn Room. Very spacious with a wonderful view of the courtyard. Perfect for summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SacValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We absolutely loved the Casa del Gavilan. The hosts, Joe and Noelle, make this inn an even more special place. The locale is magnificent....set far back from a country road, there are incredible views from all directions. We were able to see antelope on the property, plus buffalo, deer, and even a small bear within driving distance of the inn. The mountain behind the inn is absolutely astounding....and when you sit in the colorful butterfly garden or in the chairs provided on the edge of the property, you feel so peaceful and rested....exactly what a stay in the mountains should bring.

The rooms are not only beautifully decorated and comfortable, but have every amenity you could want. The public rooms are majestic and furnished with care. There is a dining room, living room and library that guests can enjoy at all times. There are books, a telescope, and Joe and Noelle have tea, water, coffee and homemade sweets available.

It is impossible to get wifi inside, as the adobe walls are so thick,but there is a computer for all guests to use as well as wifi easily available in the garden.

We only intended to stay one night, but liked the inn so much, we stayed for two nights. Joe recommended having dinner at the historic (and allegedly haunted) St. James Hotel, just a few miles down the road. The second night, we ate at a rodeo Joe told us about. He knows the history of the entire area, all about the wildlife you can see, and has tremendous enthusiasm for his role as host. What a pleasure it was to meet Joe and Noelle! We had some car trouble on our second day, and Noelle called a garage for us. In addition to Joe and Noelle, there are two waitress/housekeepers who are very nice and three adorable cats, who might greet you in the garden.

Breakfasts are just delicious and very filling. We had juice plus two courses on each day. I am a vegetarian, and was able to enjoy everything, just passed the sausage or bacon over to my husband. The choices (for example, blueberry blintzes) were unusual and perfectly cooked.

This inn is a very special place. It was built as a home, but with ensuite rooms so that the owners could have guests comfortably. Casa del Gavilan is still fulfilling its purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just got back from the Casa, this historic Inn is truly wonderful. The furniture, the food, the area around the casa....absolutely the best. The bed and bath in the Webster room was comfortable, books, magazines. There is an herb garden in the central garden area with three very funny outdoor cats. There is a computer for guests to use. The views of "The tooth" are like no other. I really liked Noelle and Joe the innkeepers, they took care of everything for me....even showed me the best place to watch a thunder storm. The food was really good, coffee maker in the room. Treats served around 4pm. I so enjoyed the other guests. If you are interested in peace, history and views that go on forever...do not miss this.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Webster room, good views and an area where deer came to eat right outside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a delightful experience! The hospitality was great and we had an amazingly delicious three course breakfast. The setting was classic New Mexico high desert. We'll be returning to this jewel of a B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cimarron
18.8 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
88 reviews
18.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
56 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Oasis (H&K) Motel
Oasis (H&K) Motel
#2 of 2 in Springer
45 reviews
18.1 mi away
Resort Properties of Angel Fire
19.0 mi away
Elk Horn Lodge
Elk Horn Lodge
#5 of 5 in Angel Fire
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn

Property: Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn
Address: Po Box 518, Cimarron, NM 87714-0518
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cimarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cimarron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains near Cimarron, New Mexico, is the historic inn, Casa del Gavilan. A place of spirit--where hawk and eagle soar--this grand adobe villa was built about 1912 for Jack and Gertrude Nairn, formerly of Hartford, Connecticut. When completed, artists and writers from far and wide came to enjoy the Nairns' elegant hospitality and to capture the majestic beauty that is New Mexico. With twelve-foot high ceilings, vigas, and eighteen-inch thick walls, Casa del Gavilan (House of the Hawk) is a showplace of Pueblo-revival architecture exhibiting artwork and sculptures by Frederick Remington, Charles Russell, Robert Redbird, and others.Completely surrounded by Philmont Scout Ranch, and a mile from Philmont's base camp, the Casa del Gavilan (also known as the Nairn Place) offers exceptional views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, hiking trails, and the peace and tranquility so rare these days. The guest rooms all have private baths and a full breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing