We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge(Eagle Nest)
$160
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Vista Lodge(Eagle Nest)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis H&K Motel(Springer)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Village Suites(Taos Ski Valley)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Three Bears Lodge(Red River)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ryland(Red River)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
35
10
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
10
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphilmont scout ranchtraining centerbreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastallisonhummingbirdsproperty
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 48 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the moment you travel down the gravel road to the Casa del Gavilan, you know you are in for an adventure. My husband, son and I were happy to see the Casa after a long day on the road. Our accomodation, the Nairn room, with a king size bed and pullout couch, was spacious and very comfortable. The Casa is an older property so do not expect all the bells and whistles of a modern Inn. The peace and beauty of the property is one of its main pluses. Keri, our gracious Inkeeper, was always helpful and a good cook, too! Her breakfasts were very tasty and got us all off to a great start. We met wonderful people and had great conversations at breakfast. The courtyard is a relaxing place and the bright New Mexico sun and low humidity made for a good outdoor time.
My husband and son were attending Philmont, the Boy Scout facility, during most of the week and sleeping in a tent.. I stayed at the Inn and drove about 7 minutes to Philmont for activities. I highly recommend Casa del Gavilan. You won't be disappointed! Try the St. James Hotel's restaurant. It has a very nice dining room with an adjoining bar and courtyard. There are two interesting gift/art gallery shops on Cimarron's main street. One of them has a soda fountain where good ice cream and milkshakes can be had. The Cree-Mee has fast food and good shakes, too. Heck's Hungry Traveller is a family style restaurant with good food. Cimarron has just over 800 people in the town so eating places are few. There are many places to visit in the area including Villa Philmonte, the summer home of Waite Phillips, the founder of Phillips 66. Check with Keri, the Inkeeper, about other areas of interest. Enjoy your visit to Cimarron and the Casa del Gavilan!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNTraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Location couldn’t be faulted, the views were spectacular and the property had so much history about it. The housekeeper looked after us well and even booked a table for us at the St James Hotel. The rooms had a lot of history and yes, the furniture and fittings looked a little worn, but were in keeping with the property. I felt it would have been a little odd to have such a historical property and modern fittings. Breakfast promised much, but failed to live up to expectation. It wasn’t bad, just okayish! Overall, stay here for a relaxed and quiet vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Casa del Gavilan was very interesting place to stay, with lot of strong pluses, but also some minuses. On the plus side, the location is absolutely stunning. It's quiet, remote, and beautiful. The inn has a large amount of land around it, and one can hike on the property. The common areas (sitting rooms, dining room, kitchen, patio) are very well furnished and lovely.

The room was OK. Some things were nice, some were less so. Some of the furniture and fixtures seem to be getting old and near the point of breaking or wearing out. Breakfasts were tasty but not overwhelming.

The hostess was very friendly and accommodating. She did a great job making us feel welcome. But I noticed a few lapses that seemed odd. For example, there was a bag of trash left in an outdoor corridor area, between two rooms. Odder still, no one made up our room between the two nights we stayed. And there was no bath mat (we just used a towel). None of these things really bothered us that much, but they do indicate some degree of inattention to detail.

I get the overall impression that this place was better some years ago and some things are running down. The amazing location still makes it an interesting place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scooters_concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My son and I stayed at Casa del Gavilan and had a delightful visit! We stayed in the Phillips Room, and the innkeeper was wonderful and very helpful. The view of Philmont's Tooth of Time is incredible! We were served a wonderful breakfast in the morning, and had lots of great conversation with the guests as well. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkh213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The drive up to the Inn is unbelievable, but that is where it ends. This property owner better wake up. This Inn has so much potential, but they are letting it run to the ground. The Inn is in need of repairs, and a major cleaning. Plus every room is unkept, junk everywhere. The Courtyard, has so much potential too, but it was dirty, chairs falling apart, or dirty. I could not wait to leave!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank codebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews