We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Interesting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Interesting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I am a big history buff- military and western. I really did like the way the place was set up. Made it real easy to understand

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nuprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern NM
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Take the Lamplight Tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I can see why people don't find Cimarron Old Town very interesting. If you walk around on your own, you won't see much. But we really enjoyed the Lamplight Tour that is offered on Wednesday and Saturday evenings. There were about a dozen people on the tour on the Saturday we went. The guide was very knowledgeable and full of stories of the old west and the gory and wild history of the town. He knew everything from the factual history to the family histories to the ghost stories. The buildings don't look like much, but with these stories, the place is truly interesting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Scooters_concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raton, New Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Walk Thru”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

More art galleries and tourist traps. Nothing really exceptional about old town.

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“See the shoot outs in the summer time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

This little collection of stores offers something for everyone, it is the purfect place to get that special suviner to take home with you. In the summer there is a staged shoot out for your viewing and I have been there on occasion when they also had indian dancers. A really family tridition for may whom come to Red River.

Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Maybe it was just unfortunate timing but............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

We visited Cimarron on Thursday 18th June, 2009. When we found the main street the St James Hotel was closed for renovations until the 22nd June, and the Old Mill Museum is closed on Thursdays. The rest of the street is probably very original but it is derelict with junk lying around and no signs or information that we could see. Unless the history of the St James Hotel has been preserved and is worth the trip then I woud give Cimarron a wide berth which is a shame as it has a reputation worth building on.

Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing