We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I ain't afraid of no ghosts!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cimarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Express St. James Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cimarron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you're looking for a chance to step back in time we highly recommend this hotel. Courteous staff, period furnishings, and great location. Parts of the hotel date back to the 1800's and are supposed to be haunted, but that just adds to the adventure. We have stayed here twice and will be back for more. Bring a hearty appetite, the food is wonderful!

Room Tip: If you want a haunted room make your reservation early. They go surprisingly fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 241 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having grown up on a diet of "Cowboys and Indians" films during our childhood, my husband and I were thrilled to spend a few days and nights at the St. James. For a couple from England who wanted to escape the "I must stay in touch with the entire world of the web at all costs", this was bliss. No email, no phone, no computer, no TV in the room..... Wonderful. We had a super drive through the mountains,we chilled, we ate gorgeous food, we chatted to staff and locals, we shopped in town and were entertained with music in the evenings. For us this stay was a highlight in our trip. As for the spooks, not a sign. We slept like logs in the Pancho Griego room which was extremely comfortable. Thankyou St. James hotel and staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kreicbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent one night at the St James, a famous haunted hotel with a colorful old-west history. We had room 23 at the top of the stairs. Very nice large corner room with a King-bed bedroom, sitting room and private bath with claw foot tub. Period furnishings, no TV or phone complete the atmosphere. There is a more modern motel-type unit next door to the historic property, too, joined by a charming patio area. We had a couple of "ghostly" experiences which may or may not be explainable. The hotel very definitely has a haunted vibe. The restaurant was excellent, however. We had steak and trout dinners which were better than the meal we had in Denver and more reasonably priced, too. The saloon/restaurant is very picturesque. Worth eating there even if you aren't staying there. Breakfast is included for hotel guests and it was buffet style, very good with real eggs! And excellent bacon and sausage. Staff were also very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The only thing that would keep us from rating this property excellent was the price of the room - just a little more expensive than I would have guessed, but our room was probably one of the highest-priced ones. While the bed itself was very comfy, we didn't sleep real well, perhaps because of the atmosphere. However, it was a unique experience and I would recommend the place for its historic and paranormal value. The village of Cimarron is very charming. We walked thru town, and saw the "town deer" just wandering the streets. Also saw wild turkey, and the residents' horses, chickens, dogs and cats. There is a nice little well-stocked grocery store there, too on the highway. Bought some local jerky and chili powder. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: room 23 at the top of the haunted stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhaya108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We traveled to this area as a destination on motorcycle. The ride was beautiful and interesting. We had been to the hotel 15 years ago, so they had renovated in the last several years. What a disappointment. The restaurant is now just a regular bare, wood floored area with little warmth or personality.
We had reserved the William Cody room which was without telephone, TV or A/C which was ok. But, there were not ANY hangers in the closet. There was very little hot water, which made taking a shower difficult and unpleasant.
So, we decided to go down to the bar and enjoy the afternoon football games (there is a TV in the bar area.) We had been there for 15 minutes (this is at 3:30 in the afternoon) when the manager informed us that we would have to leave that area as they were going to have a wedding reception in the bar area and it was private. But, he said we could sit in the restaurant area. So, we went there and decided to play cards,since there was not a TV in that area. But, after being there for less than a half hour, they said we had to leave because they were going to start serving dinner. So, we left to go spend time in the room which did not even have a table or sitting area to play cards or whatever. We understand that having a Wedding reception is important to their income, but some type of arrangements should have been made for the other guests. We just wanted to enjoy a bottle of wine and relax, but the waitress did not ever come over and ask us if we wanted anything. I finally went to the bar and asked if they were serving drinks and they almost acted like we were invisible!!
No, we will NOT return to this hotel and will not recommend it to others!!

Room Tip: If you want a TV, get a room in the Annex, which is like a regular motel. The "quaint, histori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellover060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our room was in the annex which is a basic motel. Everything worked great and was comfy. You can enjoy the historic hotel as a guest and check out all the photos and stories lining the hallways. Don't miss the bullet holes in the ceiling of the bar area! We stayed here ten years ago (also in the annex). Nice to see the hotel is being preserved and all the updates to the restaurant and patio area. Dinner was delicious. The owner likes to visit with customers and a lot of locals come in too. Since we were there on a Friday, there was a live band out in the patio area. Free entertainment. They were great to listen too. We walked the 'historic trail' in town and enjoyed the music along the route. All the people were friendly and helpful. We called in our reservation that morning from a previous stop on our trip and got everything set up. Breakfast is included for hotel guests. It was a nice buffet with hot food and friendly servers. The wi fi is limited. There is no password on it and with everyone's smart phones grabbing wi fi service these days, people who aren't even trying to be online are grabbing space on their wi fi if they're nearby. We couldn't get on at all in the evening while the party was going on. Early the next morning, we got on fine, but once the breakfast starting getting busy we heard others asking what to do to get a stronger signal. My cell had some trouble getting enough band width too for online apps. You are out in the 'wild west!' If you're there in the afternoon, check out the 1930s era soda fountain down town. We enjoyed a root beer float there. The Santa Fe Trail ruts are easy to see and we enjoyed all the history around the area.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of historic 'haunted' rooms so book those early if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haystrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stopped at the hotel last year for a yummy dinner and made the decision to return for a stay in the historic hotel. We stayed here on our way back to Oklahoma and enjoyed our stay in the Bat Masterson suite. We didnt have any ghost encounters, as the hotel is supposed to be haunted, and were both happy and sad about that! The original part of the hotel does not have AC but we slept with the fan on and the windows open and we were comfortable. We had a wonderful dinner of perfectly cooked steaks, tasty sides and a fresh salad bar. We will come back again to stay and eat at the St. James.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripreviewsbyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. it was very well kept and the owners have done an extraordinary job making the hotel feel like you've walked into the 1800's. We stayed in the old haunted hotel building (no a/c, no phone, no tv, but plenty of atmosphere and chills). This was an amazing experience and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n2styx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cimarron
19.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
97 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
5 mi away
Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Oasis H&K Motel
Oasis H&K Motel
#2 of 2 in Springer
46 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Express St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express St. James Hotel

Address: 617 South Collison, Cimarron, NM 87714
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cimarron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cimarron
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get into the "spirit" of the Old West at the Express St. James Hotel. Relax in a room where frontier legends stayed but beware, some of our "guests" have never checked out. For those seeking less excitement stay in the modern annex side. Guests can choose from a variety of entrees in the restaurant complimented by a drink in the Bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
St James Cimarron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing