We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Philmont.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cimarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Express St. James Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cimarron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I agree with all of the positive reviews. The only negative is if you have a room in the original hotel (verses annex) it can be very hot during the summer as there is no cross ventilation (no air conditioning).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZimmIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJames_11, Events Coordinator at Express St. James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

The Express St. James staff appreciates your concern about the lack of modern air conditioning in the historic side of the hotel. Operating a facility that is well over a hundred years old has challenges and one of them is cooling the building during the summer heat. We finally decided to educate ourselves as to how the place stayed cool during the late 1800's. Instead of shutting windows and leaving the blinds wide open we started using methods employed by the original owners. Windows are left cracked open, blinds on the west side are closed to the sun, transoms over doors are open, fans stay going in all rooms and hallways now. The difference is phenomenal! I know because my office is on the second floor of the old hotel. Our new "old" methods seem to be making a difference. Still not the same as modern icy cold AC but for someone like me who grew up in really humid heat - this is wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Express St. James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

What you won't get at the St. James Hotel: Large, spacious rooms with modern decor and bathrooms with walk-in showers. You might not even get doors that close flush with the frames. What you will get: Peeling wallpaper, creaky floors, and probably one of the most authentic Wild West experiences left to be had in the United States. You may even be visited by one of the hotels many resident ghosts. I, however, slept quite well through the night during our stay. My girlfriend claims to have heard some creaking from across the hall in the wee hours, from room 18, which is padlocked and closed to guests. It's said that the unexplained occurrences in that room were becoming too violent to allow guests to stay there. But you don't have to believe in ghosts to enjoy the St. James, you just have to like American history and want to spend a night or two pretending that you're back in northern New Mexico's (even) wilder days. To know whether everything that's said about the place is entirely true or not...well, you'll have to ask someone who was there in the 1870's.

By the way, the St. James has recently added an annex out back. If you want the authentic western experience, be sure to request a room in the "old" hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the "old" hotel or you may be put in the recently constructed annex.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmhouse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJames_11, Events Coordinator at Express St. James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

The St. James Hotel is a blend of old western history mixed with ghosts making it an attractive place to visit for history buffs as well as those who investigate the paranormal. Rooms on the historic side are kept so guests will have a partial 1880's experience. Annex rooms were built to accommodate travelers who just want a modern motel room. What you may experience is determined by your choice and expectations. Like many of these old places truth and folklore have mixed - which makes a wonderful "history mystery" to figure out. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We did not stay in the hotel, but celebrated our 49th anniversary by eating at the restaurant. Steve Boyce and his staff made us feel so special. My husband ask if fresh flowers could be put on our table as a surprise to me and a lovely bouquet was there when we went to our table. The food was wonderful as well as the service. We have eaten in many fine restaurants in the US and St.James ranks in the top 5 in our books.
To complete our meal, a slice of cheesecake with "happy 49th anniversary" was brought to our table as a complete surprise to us. Keep up the good work and we cannot believe all of your reviews are not "excellent".

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rancherette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJames_11, Events Coordinator at Express St. James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

On behalf of the Express St. James Hotel and General Manger Steve Boyce - THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This place is worth visiting and staying. I enjoy the history of the hotel and the little town.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the historic part. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little dated but I did not care.

3  Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJames_11, Events Coordinator at Express St. James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you from the staff of the Express St. James Hotel! Since opening the hotel the rehabilitation of the rooms has continued but it is a slow process hampered by not knowing what we will run into when you start a job. Our goal is to continue upgrades as time and finances allow. Your patience and kind words are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My family and I stayed in the Bat Masterson Suite, no ghosts came to call on this visit. The hotel was kind enough to close off the hallway at a decent hour to visitors interested in the photos and memorabilia on the first floor. The rooms on this floor are roped off for visitors to look in, like a museum. The stay was comfortable with an open window and a floor fan in the room, this helped with any outside noise you could hear in the hallway. We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was good and accommodated those who did not want a heavy breakfast and offered fruit, yogurt and cereals as options and the wait staff was very good at filling up those coffee cups with fresh, hot coffee. My only suggestion would be to have coffee available in the lobby or patio area for guests as the restaurant doesn't open until 7:00am. Those of us staying in the historic part of the hotel do not have coffee pots in our rooms (much less tv's or telephone). This hotel is extremely busy with guests and tourists and the traffic through there is tremendous. It is quite a unique place and well worth a visit or stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJames_11, Events Coordinator at Express St. James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you from the Express St. James Hotel. We appreciate your suggestion concerning coffee for our guests staying in the historic side. Will be happy to forward this idea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Well for starters the food is more like box food something that you would go to wal-mart and get in the frozen food section. And even than that would be much tastier than the food here. The bar...well that's a different story. Very poor service. The only one that knows what they are doing is the male bartender. The hours of service fluctuate and are very inconsistent. The drinks are terrible. My bloody Mary had a good inch of black pepper at the base and all other drinks tasted watered down. The service wasn't very friendly it seemed as if they wanted my a party and I to leave asap. When I asked for a drink I ended up with two drinks I didn't want or ask for. My meal was one day old according to another server. And I still smell the stench of the food. All in all it's gorgeous. Nice place to sit at and chit chat but other than that I wouldn't recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cherrylerouge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJames_11, Events Coordinator at Express St. James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

All comments have merit – even negative ones. The Express St. James Hotel Restaurant creates the majority of their foods, sauces and more from scratch using many family recipes. Additionally, all steaks are hand cut on site by one of our chefs. Our bar is one of the finest in town. We apologize if you had a negative experience. If these incidents occurred let a manager know immediately so they can address your concerns in a more timely fashion. Many people sign the hotel guest register as they leave the restaurant. Recent comments include: Awesome! - Yummy! - Great Food! - I love food! – and my personal favorite, Oh Yum Yum! Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The St James recently underwent a huge renovation, and much of the wear and tear of the restaurant has been fixed. However, it seems that the hotel rooms are the last things slated for repair. Some of the rooms have been remodeled, but some are just years older than they were years ago -- and already with years of soil.
This is a charming, but overpriced hotel. No phone or TV in the old building, but it is charming. Comparable accommodations are much cheaper elsewhere in NM; not sure why the price is so high here.
If you stay here, be sure to ask if the room has been remodeled recently. If it has, you're in luck. If you haven't.....yuck, don't walk around in your bare feet..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cimarron
19.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
18.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn
20.3 mi away
Oasis (H&K) Motel
Oasis (H&K) Motel
#2 of 2 in Springer
46 reviews
21.4 mi away
Resort Properties of Angel Fire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express St. James Hotel

Address: 617 South Collison, Cimarron, NM 87714
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cimarron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cimarron
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get into the "spirit" of the Old West at the Express St. James Hotel. Relax in a room where frontier legends stayed but beware, some of our "guests" have never checked out. For those seeking less excitement stay in the modern annex side. Guests can choose from a variety of entrees in the restaurant complimented by a drink in the Bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
St James Cimarron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing