We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Southwest Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Amazing Southwest Charm”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have truly enjoyed our stays at this comfortable B&B outside of Santa Fe. Though a little off the beaten path, it really isn't too hard to find. The breakfasts we have enjoyed there are wonderful, and the staff is warm and genial. The housecat they keep was friendly, if occasionally loud at night, and did a lot to keep the atmosphere homey. We will definitely stay there again in the near future!

Room Tip: The Heart of the House room is spacious, has a private exit to the terrace, and includes a fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJAurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    36
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
117
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Casa Escondida is a wonderful place to get away from Albuquerque if you arre a local, or a perfect spot to stay if you are visiting New Mexico from out of State. It is a peaceful spot, tatsetfully decorated, welcoming, and completely relaxing! The staff is wonderful...helpful and friendly, and the food is terrific!
The B&B is centrally located to many of New Mexico's historic sites, and right amidst the stunning beauty that IS northern New Mexico. We cannot wait to return in the fall!

Room Tip: The Vista Room is great if you like to sit outside with a beverage and nature watch. The Kiva Room...
See more room tips
Green Features: This Inn is very green. They are all about nature, recycling, and water conservation. A MUST in New Mexico!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSCARPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my family's second stay at Casa Escondida, separated by four years. Both times, we have stayed in the Casita, which is perfect for a larger group.

I can't say enough about the charming, quiet, nature-filled setting -- so relaxing, and yet it's easy to get into Santa Fe for the museums, restaurants and other city attractions. Each morning, we looked forward to the generous, delicious homemade breakfasts, and drinking our early morning coffee on the veranda while watching the antics of the hummingbirds at the feeders. We love the fact that Casa Escondida has no TV or phones in the rooms -- it's the kind of place you go to disconnect from the hectic pace of daily life. The common room is charming and comfy, and filled with guide books and other information about the area.

Belinda and her staff obviously put a lot of effort into making everyone feel at home, from the welcome plate of biscochitos in our room, to the cold lemonade on demand in the kitchen, to their helpful sightseeing suggestions.

NEXT time, I want to reserve an on-site massage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean b&b. courteous people. Breakfast was well portioned enjoyable. Backyard area was beautiful in the morning after you wake up. Seemed a little bit overpriced but I guess you pay for which you get,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurgeonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here in June as part of a driving trip across the US. We were traveling with our small dog, so we needed a place that had a kitchen(ette) and was pet friendly. Casa met this on both counts. We had been staying in budget chain hotels and eating take out, so we were relieved to find a location where we could cook a bit and have some breathing room.

Everyone was friendly and nice and the studio space was comfortable and had nice light. I felt like it could have used a bit more attention to cleaning--especially the kitchen--dishes were greasy from being on display instead of in the cabinet. My only other complaint was that both the front and back screen doors were ripped a bit, so a few bugs were able to sneak in the afternoon and at dusk. The sunset/moonrise viewed from our patio was spectacular.

The breakfasts were substantial and tasty and the coffee they served seemed like it had cinnamon added, which was a nice touch. It was lovely watching the birds at the feeders while we had breakfast on the patio.

The location in Chimayo was off the beaten path and enabled us to experience some true New Mexico, different than just touring urban areas.

Staff was helpful with suggestions, but I also recommend reviewing the in-room binder as it has some good information about places to eat and visit. We found it the day we were leaving unfortunately.

Green Features: They had an informative note in the bathroom regarding conservation of water use and linen replacement.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I first stayed at Casa Escondida in the early 90's, even before Belinda built her own house nearby. We've always been welcomed warmly, and the house feels so much like home we consider Belinda to be family. After our first visit we brought friends with us (from Sacramento, CA), sent other friends from California, and returned again a year or so later when I pruned her apple tree. Even after moving to Albuquerque, we came back for my birthday celebration in October. You can read much the same thing in other reviews; this is an exceptional place. There are gorgeous places all around the property to sit and relax, inside and out. Star gazing is remarkable out there in the country, especially the August meteor showers, or the occasional space station flyover. The only time I thought we had chosen the wrong room is when we stayed in the Sun Room during a full moon. It was so brightly lit I didn't sleep at all. Ambiance, food, hospitality, comfort, location, privacy and an opening to Spirit can all be felt at the same time. Do use this place as a hub for all other activities in this part of northern New Mexico. The value of a stay here includes many day trips that can be combined so you can see more than one thing in one day, and all within an easy drive from Casa Escondida. Go hide in the woods. Separate yourself from the rat race, and just breathe.

Room Tip: The Vista Room (up some narrow stairs) is a favorite because of it's large private balcony. The...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a "green friendly" business. Read the page on their website to get a good idea of the changes and improvements they've made.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Everything stated in the most recent reviews is accurate. Guests have the run of the house, with access to a complete kitchen and common area, including free wifi and telephone. Comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms. Breakfasts that obviate the need for lunch anytime soon, if at all. Personable staff. In mid-May the hummingbirds were arriving, and the large feeder in the courtyard was particularly busy with visiting grosbeaks. The house cat will make sure you are aware of his presence. There is a hot tub and hammock under the trees. Located a half mile from the Chimayo church compound. If that church seems a bit overdeveloped to you, drive thirty minutes north on the high road, passing the village of Truchas, to Trampas, where there is a beautiful old mission style church in its pure and humble habitat, so to speak. I suggest that before arrival you stock up on any drinks and snacks you might want during your stay in Santa Fe or Espanola. There is a Family Dollar store for junk food and a very limited liquor store in Chimayo a mile or two down the road towards Espanola, but you'll be happier if you hit a supermarket first. As others have noted, the excellent Rancho Chimayo restaurant is close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KU65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimayo
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Address: 64 County Road 100, P.O. Box 142, Chimayo, NM 87522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Chimayo (only 35 minutes north of Santa Fe), this is the perfect, central location for visiting all of the most popular destinations in northern New Mexico (Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier National Park, Pueblos, hot springs and more)! Six acres of mountain serenity. A full, hot breakfast is included. FREE wi-fi. FREE parking. FREE daily newspaper. You'll sleep like royalty on our luxury bed linens and our magnificent orthopedic mattresses.Guest rooms are filled with hand-picked antiques and accented in a rustic southwestern style. Start your day in our sunny breakfast room. Conclude your day with an evening of star gazing by our outdoor fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing