We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are looking for some peace and quiet away from the noise of the city, then this place is perfect! The rooms are very comfortable and the staff has thought of all kinds of little things to make your stay more enjoyable. While out in a rural area, away from the bustle of the city, it is very convenient to Santa Fe, Taos, Ghost Ranch, Espanola, and other great spots in North Central New Mexico. And the breakfasts are superb. This was our second visit and we plan on returning as often as we can. Make sure this is on your list!

Room Tip: The "Heart of the House" room has an old wood stove in the corner and a back door opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great BB off the beaten path ... Located in Chimayo Valley.. just 30 minutes North of Santa Fe ... Come here to get recharged .. leave all the laptops, iPads behind ..The owner and staff are great.. The rooms are romatic , get some wine and chesse and hold each other near the kiva fireplace .. I've stayed 4 times its great each time ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rqball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here Friday 2/22 and really enjoyed it. We chose one of the lower priced rooms. i believe it was the Garden Room, located in a separate building a few steps off the patio right on the way to the hot tub, (which we didn't use.) It was very small but comfortable and attractive. My only criticism was that the pillows were very firm, so if you like pillows that are soft and squishy or down-like, BYO. Belinda, the owner was very friendly, nice and helpful. She gave us good directions, which you need. It's a little hard to find. I recommend getting there while it's still light. Belinda was not at Casa Escondida when we called for a reservation within 15-20 minutes before we arrived. She planned to meet us at the entrance to the driveway with her lights flashing, so we wouldn't miss the turn. We actually beat her there. Our GPS found it reasonably well. We enjoyed reading by the fire in the cozy common living room and had a taste egg and green chili casserole with fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee and lemon poppyseed bread for breakfast. M-m-m-m. Belinda also made reservations at the local restaurant nearby. We will definitely return. It must be really beautiful in the spring, summer and fall when the patio is available. Chimayo is also a central spot to explore this part of NM.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the second time we've booked in at Casa Escondido. This time we booked the freestanding Casita with sitting room and kitchenette. It was wonderful. In addition to the great facilities, Belinda and her staff make everyone feel totally at home. They have helpful resources and great inside information on the sights, shopping, and just about anything else you're interested in. The breakfasts are tailored to the Southwest Mexican cuisine.

The location of this B&B couldn't be better. Between Santa Fe, Taos, Ghost Ranch, the Wilderness, Craft Shops, etc, etc. etc. We stayed two weeks and still didn't see it all. We'll be back.

Room Tip: For us, the Casita was well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Last week my girlfriend and I were traveling through NM on a hot springs road trip and wanted to spoil ourselves before camping in the mountains for a few days. Many other B&Bs were booked and I found an available room here for the time. This was my first experience in a B&B and I was pleasantly surprised at how well put together this little inn was. It was quaint and off the road, which we both appreciated. The common room was cozy and homelike when we arrived with the resident cat napping quietly on couch. We checked in late and ate dinner at a local restaurant then fell asleep quickly. We awoke to a rooster crowing and a beautiful sunrise. The breakfast served was a delicious egg casserole alongside a wonderful cinnamon infused coffee. A few more breakfast options would have been nice but we are not picky eaters so it didn't affect us in the slightest. We had a great time and would like to come back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinstonV192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The building itself is lovely. We have been to quite a few Band B's and this was by far our least favorite. The little things were missing. The squirt soap and lotion dispensers reminded me of summer camp as a kid. The morning breakfast was also disappointing. The bread was set out the night before. It was covered with syran wrap, but just the thought of it setting out all night was not my favorite. There was not any butter and the "Mexican" eggs were dissapointing. They were scrambled eggs mixed with some salsa. I am from the area so I was not fooled. We hardly slept and woke with back aches. The mattress was very firm and so were the pillows. We were woken up in the middle of the night by a cat meowing at the door. The owner is not on premise and it is run by others. I missed the personal contact that I have grown to love from Bed and Breakfasts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnchantedNewMexico, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that you liked the building and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I wanted to follow-up in response to your concerns. First, I wanted to direct you to our website. You will see a tab that says “Green Friendly”. Click on it and you can read about the MANY things that we do, to be low impact on the environment. The soap, lotion, shampoo and hand soap dispensers are just one of the environmentally friendly things that we do. Individual soaps and shampoos, etc. have an excessive amount of packaging which generates an unbelievable amount of trash that goes into our landfills. Individual soaps are also wasteful in terms of the amount of energy and raw materials that are required for the production of these individual items, which are intended for single use. Single use items also results in the unnecessary waste of the actual product. We in fact, pride ourselves on using these types of dispensers. We are sorry that you don’t seem to appreciate the benefit. As far as our baked goods, we do bake our own breakfast breads in-house (pumpkin, blueberry, gingerbread, etc). In the late afternoon, it is sliced, plated, wrapped and then placed on the dining room table in preparation for serving the following morning. We only plate enough for that meal. If freshness or safety were an issue, we wouldn’t do it. Just to clarify, health code does not require refrigeration of baked goods. Baked goods being stored at room temperature is perfectly safe and acceptable. If you think about the baked goods that are in any grocery store or bakery, they are not refrigerated. If you desired butter, we would have been delighted if you had asked. We serve sweet, unsalted butter. We could have easily provided butter for you, if that is how you prefer to eat your sweet bread but we are not able to meet a need that you don’t make us aware of. You assumption that we simply mix salsa with eggs to make our “Spanish Eggs” is not correct. We DO garnish the finished eggs with a little salsa and cilantro but there is no salsa mixed with or cooked with the eggs. You can find the complete recipe for our Spanish Eggs in the current edition of “The Best Recipes from New Mexico's B and Bs”, published from the University of New Mexico Press. We do have a resident cat that is very people friendly. We understand that not everyone is a cat lover and we are sorry if he disturbed you. That is why we suggest that you close the door between the living area and the hallway. This will prevent the cat from being able to get to your sleeping room door. I’m the owner and I am on premise. I do have staff, as it is impossible for any one person to work every shift. I’m not sure what personal contact you were seeking that you didn’t feel as though you received but we have friendly and competent staff there to greet you and check you in upon arrival (if you arrived during check-in hours). There was staff there to serve you a full, hot breakfast each morning and there was staff to clean your room each day. If you had any needs that were not met and I was not physically in the house, you could have easily picked-up the guest phone that is in the living room and reached me by phone. The business phone number is even posted by the guest phone so that guests can easily reach a staff member at any time of day or night. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I totally enjoyed our stay at Casa Escondida. It is tucked away from noise and confusion but centrally located for many wonderful adventures to Santa Fe, Bandelier, the Valles Caldera, and Taos. Chimayo itself is lovely. The B & B is clean and tasteful, the innkeeper is thoughtful and knowledgeable, the cat is friendly, and the amenities are numerous (great breakfasts, cookies, free internet, many artist and weaver studios nearby). There are also numerous nice restaurants in the area. It was a very nice place to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnchantedNewMexico, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimayo
10.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
8.4 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rancho Manzana
Rancho Manzana
#3 of 4 in Chimayo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Villas de Santa Fe
Villas de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
515 reviews
14.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
8.4 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast

Address: 64 County Road 100, P.O. Box 142, Chimayo, NM 87522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range: $153 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Chimayo (only 35 minutes north of Santa Fe), this is the perfect, central location for visiting all of the most popular destinations in northern New Mexico (Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier National Park, Pueblos, hot springs and more)! Six acres of mountain serenity. A full, hot breakfast is included. FREE wi-fi. FREE parking. FREE daily newspaper. You'll sleep like royalty on our luxury bed linens and our magnificent orthopedic mattresses.Guest rooms are filled with hand-picked antiques and accented in a rustic southwestern style. Start your day in our sunny breakfast room. Conclude your day with an evening of star gazing by our outdoor fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing