We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day trip to Chimayo with friends”

Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Chimayo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Labor Day trip to Chimayo with friends”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had some friends from out of town visiting, so we took them to Chimayo, one of my favorite places. Before the tour of the Santuario, one of the oldest churches in New Mexico, we stopped for lunch at Rancho de Chimayo. Had great northern New Mexico Food at a nice setting with great service Most of the time there is some waiting time to be served, but it has a nice place to seat and enjoy with Bar service if desired.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDBDMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    239
    86
    39
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espanola, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rancho de is one of the best in the area”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We get to Rancho de Chimayo several times a year and sometimes bring out of town guest to this restaurant as a good example of local food. Hadn't been here for lunch in awhile and was glad we made the trip. The food is always good and the atmosphere is quite pleasant. The service is fast and I always like the prickly pear cactus iced tea as a refreshing alternative to alcoholic drinks. The lunch prices are reasonable so if you have never been here try them for lunch and you'll come back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Classic New Mexican in the countywide”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The 5 circles are for the total experience - ambiance, food, margaritas (of course), service and history. It's just a lovely place in a rustic New Mexico setting. Some of the most memorable evenings I've ever spent in the Santa Fe area have begun with the short drive up to this converted hacienda just on the outskirts of Chimayo. You might even want to go a little early and tour the famous santuario.

If the weather is nice and the terraces out back are open - that's the way to go. So romantic on clear New Mexico evening with the candles flickering. The interior is totally a step back into old New Mexico and on a cold winter night with snow falling and a fire burning in the corner, it's hard to beat.

Absolutely start with one of their very authentic margaritas - not the big punch bowl of limeade that pass for margaritas a lot of places. Now just a word about the food. This is the "real deal" New Mexican dining and it is not for the heat challenged. If the server tells you that the chile is hot - trust me, it will be hot. The heat can vary depending on the season though, so be sure to ask if you have concerns. Otherwise, dive in. I've never had a less than perfect meal here. By all means try the carne adovada - sooo tender and long simmered. You can really taste the love. Enchiladas, posole, and chile rellenos are also TDF. Try not to fill up on the sopaipillas and honey but they are the best fried dough this side of New Orleans. I usually don't have room for dessert but they have some traditional New Mexican offerings. Maybe just a little after dinner snifter of something sweet by the fire. Ah, life is good. If you've thought to reserve ahead you can just stroll across the street and spend the night and drive back to Santa Fe tomorrow.

Oh, and by the way, pick up a copy of their cookbook. Not only is it a treasure trove of their recipes but also a very interesting history of this historic part of New Mexico - sets the context for the food very well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican food”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We went on a very busy night, so had a few glitches with the food. However it was still tasty! The restaurant itself has a lot of history, very pretty! Worth the drive.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelLandsPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Popular New Mexican restaurant on the High Road to Taos.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Chimayo is a very small village with a large, elegant restaurant. New Mexican food couldn't get much better in the relaxing setting of an old hacienda. When we travel the HIGH ROAD, we always time our trip to eat lunch at the Rancho. The food is always wonderful, the prices very reasonable and the service is good. You can eat inside or out in the garden patio. It's always a pleasant meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelersOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing