We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back after 15 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante

Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Chimayo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Back after 15 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went for an early dinner, and sat on the patio. The food was splendid- I had to carne adovada, while my wife had some wonderful enchiladas. We enjoyed them- including the sopapillas. The service was professional, and friendly. We enjoyed it, and will return- hopefully sooner than fifteen years!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    215
    80
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We decided to try this restaurant based on a recommendation from a friend. We were staying in Santa Fe and decided to drive to Chimayo to try it for lunch. Unfortunately there was road work on the interstate so the drive was delayed due to that. At one point my BF said, "we are driving 50 miles to go to lunch?" and didn't sound too pleased. After we arrived and seated outdoors on this expansive outdoor patio his mood started to change. We ordered a beer and studied the extensive menu. I opted for the shrimp enchiladas (blue tortilla) with green chili pesto sauce and he ordered the beef wrap sandwich. Both were incredible. The beef was super tender! The shrimp were small but overflowing (no skimping on the amount at all!!). We decided of the two dishes that the shrimp enchiladas were the best. Great atmosphere and unique setting for a restaurant which is out in the middle of no where. Oh, and the service was impeccable! Be prepared for a drive. On the way back to Santa Fe, I turned to him and asked if the drive was worth it and he nodded his head enthusiastically in agreement.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rancho restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This huge restaurant has both inside and outdoor seating. The food was good but not over the top. Portions were huge, even the appetizers… big enough to split for a dinner. Red sangria was
excellent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We love this place, don't miss it if in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I have been coming here for years and whenever we are in the area we pop in for lunch or dinner. The food is some of the best we have ever had in the area. The inside of the restaurant is great, but the best is to sit on the patio out back and enjoy the wonderful weather as well as the service. One of personal favorites is the green chile stew, but there are many more dishes to choose from, all are good. Like I said in the title don't miss it if in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bayouself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our party of 4 recently had lunch at Rancho De Chimayo in New Mexico while touring by motorcycle through the state. A friend suggested the stop and wow....was he right. Great atmosphere, wonderful food, perfect drinks. We had lunch on the terrace outside. Mexican food and margaritas were great. Highly recommend this stop. If we are ever back in the area, we will definitely make the drive to this restaurant. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatDayTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing