We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the drive.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante

Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Chimayo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the drive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I don't usually like to complain, but feel obliged to share our experiance so others won't waste their time and money on the drive. We ate here two nights ago and were exceedingly disappointed. When we arrived we asked to sit outside and were asked to follow the hostess, then she turned around and told us that our table wasn't ready and a few minutes later tried to seat us inside. When we asked what happened to our table outside, she said that the patio seating was being saved for reservations. The restaurant was not full by any means, so my husband went to ask if we could make a reservation so we could sit outside. A different hostess proceeded to promptly seat us at a table on the terrace. We ordered chips and salsa, which I was surprised we had to pay for. It was also a small basket that did not come with a complementary refill and the salsa tasted like it came from a jar. I ordered the prickly pear frozen lemon aid and it had the distinct taste of powdered lemon aid. My husband said his stuffed sopopilla was not bad and my chicken flaunta was quite good, but when I bit into the beef one it was a mouth full of oil and flavorless beef. The mexican rice lacked any flavor at all and the beans were boring.Our waitress was very nice and attentive and was very good to us. We were so looking forward to our meal after
reading about it in a guide book and seeing great reviews online. I think this place was once great, but they are not staying faithful to the quality they once had and it will burn them in the end. Save yourself the long drive and
try La Paragua in Espanola!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    215
    80
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level Contributor
252 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A tradition when I am in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been there many times over the years and have always enjoyed the lunch and dinner meals I have had. The atmosphere is wonderful and the food marvelous. The service has always been good and helpful in the selection of our food. The sangria is both tasty and refreshing and the margaritas are fantastic. Stop by, relax and enjoy Amigos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
308 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant -- the sopaipillas
are excellent, and the atmosphere will be kept
in mind for many years after your visit. I like the
Carne Adovado and the margaritas are quite
good. On this visit the Prickly Pear Lemonade
was a hit. Definitely make a reservation and
ask to sit outside on the raised terraces. We
first visited this restaurant in the late 1980's
following it's exceptional description in the
guidebook by Robert Casey, "A Journey to the
High Southwest". Rancho de Chimayo
continues to be a fabulous place to dine,
every bit as good as its description almost
thirty years ago.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weyl-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten path, but worth the drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The restaurant setting is quite lovely, like an old Spanish home in the countryside. There are many separate seating areas, and we sat on the patio, shaded by large umbrellas. Waitresses are dressed in Spanish costume. Ours was very pleasant, and explained to me how sopapillas are made. She recommended the Frozen Prickly Pear Pink Lemonade, which was not too sweet and very refreshing on a hot afternoon. Although my taco salad was good, what I'll remember is that lemonade, and my introduction to sopapillas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Historic New Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The atmosphere is like walking into an old adobe home in New Mexico. They have the best New Mexican chili at fairly reasonable prices. Their margaritas are the best. Summer outdoor dining on the patios is great. In the winter, the fireplace in the bar is warm and cozy. One of our favorites!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rsfuller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing