We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome New Mexican food!”

Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Chimayo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Missoula, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome New Mexican food!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Love this place -- always take visitors here. Reasonable distance from Albuquerque, but we stayed at the B&B across the street this last time which made for a perfect experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 406Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    235
    86
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Chimayo”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Mexican menu is excellent. The food was great both in-house and take -out. The only downside was that we felt rushed and hurried by the young male server where there seemed to be no reason judging by the number of seats in our area that were vacant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Must stop between Taos and Santa Fe”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful historic building set in the middle of some of the prettiest New Mexico territory you will see. Check out the dual fireplace in the bar really cool!

Best picks are the Carne Adovada and the Nex Mex Enchiladas Christmas style (red and green chile) with an egg on top.

Check out the pottery gallery in the back - you will see some amazing work from the local masters and get a hell of an education from the personable and knowlegable owner. But careful spending any dough here it is pricey stuff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Delicious!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

When my husband and I studied during three summers at the College of the American West, in Montezuma, we preferred driving to Chimayo over traveling to Albuquerque or Sante Fe. One of our reasons was this particular restaurant. The building is landscaped beautifully, and the tables on the elevated terraces are protected by lovely, market umbrellas. The menu is equally impressive and filled with local, fresh ingredients from which to select. The drinks are equally wel done and the wait staff gracious and efficient.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband raved about this restaurant but I have had much better southwest food. The tortilla soup was thin and the meat in my enchilada dry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing