We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home on the Range”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda
Ranked #2 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Potomac, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home on the Range”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I generally don't care too much for B&Bs, finding them too often either overly personal and fussy or dingy and lacksidasical, but the Hacienda de Chimayo manages to combine the best of the home-like experience with the privacy afforded by an inn. Hacienda de Chimayo is located on a small hill right by the side of a not-too-busy country highway, overlooking a broad field facing their well-regarded Rancho de Chimayo Restaurant (reservations recommended). We arrived shortly before dinnertime, were greeted and checked-in very cordially and efficiently by a professional manager-- not the owner/resident of the Hacienda (whom we never ran into)-- washed up and strolled across the highway for a very pleasant dinner. The Hacienda only has seven rooms, but they feel quite independent of each other, as they open onto a small, open air patio, and have balconies or french doors on another side. By the side of each entrance door is a large pile of firewood that guests are welcome to light in the beautiful kiva fireplaces gracing the rooms (we stayed in Seis). Room furnishings and decor are by no means new or "stylish", but neat and clean, exactly as you might wish your elderly favorite aunt in New Mexico would provide for your visits. There was no TV, cell-phone reception was difficult and I don't believe there was any internet connectivity. We had a comfortable time following dinner, reading long into the night on an overstuffed sofa in front of a roaring fire. The next morning we got up early to watch the sun rise. Breakfast was quite modest, but delivered to our rooms on wooden tray tables. The closest "attraction" to the Hacienda is El Santuario de Chimayo, the charming historic pilgrimage shrine and National Historic Landmark, a few minutes drive down the road towards Santa Fe. As others have commented, at only about half-an-hour from Santa Fe, Hacienda de Chimayo is a very viable alternative to the chain-store lodgings available in Santa Fe for a comparable or higher price.

Room Tip: Seis is a huge room with antique pine furniture and beautiful kiva. The french doors open to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gaoyoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was perfect for us and a one-night stop on the way home from Albuquerque to Colorado. Service was just what we needed and not bothersome. Room seis was large, clean, comfortable, beautiful, and authentic with fireplace, balcony, creaky wood floors, and high ceilings. We chose breakfast on the balcony and it was just right for us. We used the fireplace with no problems and we actually had cell service too. We met other friendly guests and the resturaunt was to die for! We had a table on the 2nd level of the patio and the atmosphere, service, and food were all delightful, we will be recommending both to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms uno and siete have balconies that face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hacienda de Chimayo is a great base from which to explore the amazing beauty of New Mexico. Over several days, we drove from the Hacienda to Taos (you have to check out the Taos Pueblo & the bridge over the Rio Grande Gorge!), the cool old almost-ghost town of Cerillos (where we had an amazing horseback riding experience with Broken Saddle Ranch), and also easily drove to Santa Fe (very cool, artistic old town). To get to Taos from the Hacienda you must drive along the Rio Grande gorge, and you cannot help but marvel at the amazing desert views no matter where you're going. The Hacienda also has its own restaurant just across the street (Rancho de Chimayo) which is very well-known around the area and serves very delicious food. Just down the street is a beautiful local attraction, the Santuario de Chimayo, which attracts pilgrims from all over and is a lovely, peaceful place to visit.

The Hacienda itself is a lovely little B&B. It has a courtyard in the middle from which all the rooms are accessed, with lots of flowers & benches. We stayed in Room Uno which had beautiful antique furniture, airy high ceilings with gorgeous dark beams, and a great kiva fireplace which we absolutely LOVED to sit beside & read at night. The little balcony was great too, because we could sit outside & read or watch the world go by. The room had a little fridge, a coffee maker, and a couple of cans of juice. Every morning, we were treated with a healthy continental breakfast served on trays & brought to our room for whatever time we wished. When we checked in, we were greeted warmly by Norman, the owner's son, who gave us tons of great information about the history and attractions in the area. On the night before we were due to leave, he saw us arrive back at the Hacienda, knowing we were planning to leave too early for breakfast, he came out of the office to say goodbye & wish us well, and even offered us some yogurt in the fridge to take with us for breakfast the next morning.

We were absolutely enchanted by our first visit to New Mexico, and the Hacienda was honestly one of the best parts of the trip. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room Uno which was lovely, with high ceilings & beautiful beams, a fabulous kiva fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westielover_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room Seis. No frills but nice large space with wonderful fireplace and sitting area. On a central courtyard with easy checkin. Can walk to Restaurant across the street owned by the same family. Only suggestion is to add a few reading lamps as the overhead light is too bright. Easy access to a visit to Sanctuario de Chimayo which is rather unique

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eashaw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Great stay and Have always loved the room. was excellent great service. Norman at the front desk was very attentive, friendly, helpful and very Accomodating.
Visit stays out because of the very, very old crosses at the edge of the property. A highlight was getting Norman' historical stories.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife of 40 years and I went up for a Valentine Weekend get away. The service was great, the room represented what we love about living in New Mexico. A treasure. Love the fact that we were able to have a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visiting Chimayo is a must for the history, culture ... and food. We stayed the night at the Hacienda and were delighted with the room. The room was beautifully furnished and the little kiva fireplace in the corner was the icing on the cake.
Breakfast was brought to our room the next morning and was delicious. Staff was friendy and helpful. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.
This is an old hacienda -- wide plank floors, high ceilings -- it's NOT the Marriott -- but who the heck wants the Marriott when they stay at a B&B?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 406Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimayo
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#51 of 60 in Santa Fe
93 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,247 reviews
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda

Property: Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda
Address: County Road 98, PO Box 11, Chimayo, NM 87522 (Formerly Hacienda de Chimayo)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Chimayo Hotel Chimayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing