We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Chama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Branding Iron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Branding Iron Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Chama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were very satisfied with our stay. The motel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are clean, quiet and spacious, with comfortable beds. They have a paved parking lot as compared to some of the other motels with gravel. This was important to us since we were on motorcycles. We had a total of 5 rooms for all and everyone was very happy with their rooms for the entire stay. It's only a short drive to the train station if you are taking a train ride.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

After a long day of traveling in NM, when the night comes it can be a little daunting, especially if you are used to highways with lamps and cat eye dividers. Having spent a few night trying to find Motels and Hotels in the dark, driving off dirt paths to get to them - it was actually great to get to Chama and find this Motel so easily - a big bright neon sign lights the way. The office was warm and and the person greeting us very helpful. We were there to take the scenic train ride from Chama, but had no idea where we were... as I said - a long drive.

The rooms are very spacious (202) and the beds very comfortable. It was rather cold on arrival but at a flick of a switch on the heater we warmed up quickly (and quietly - nothing worse than a loud heater). This is a motel, so you do hear footsteps every now and then as people walk past your room, but nothing disturbing. The road was far enough away from our room that we heard no traffic. We did hear some Elks - and that was just fine by us.

Great soap (organic fig and honey) and lovely shampoo. The room and bathroom were clean clean clean.

No breakfast area - they state this clearly on the website, and there are several breakfast areas around, in town and on the road.

There is a saloon and restaurant about .5 mies away - you need to take the car as there are no sidewalks. The train station is about .7 miles away - and very easy to find.

Check out was easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I were to have arrived from two different directions but the front desk has both our names listed. We were greeted cheerfully and efficiently. The rooms were clean, there were plenty of towels, the television worked properly and the coffee & maker (both caf and decaf) was a blessing. We were given directions and information about parking for the Cumbres-Toltec train ride which we scouted out that day. The train ride was within easy walking distance...a definite plus if parking had been an issue. You also need to fend for yourself for breakfast as the Branding Iron did not offer a continental breakfast.

Room Tip: For a light sleeper, recommend an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmjohn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights in September, before and after riding the Cumbres & Toltec Railway. This hotel is still just like hotels were in the 70's, with the modern additions of Wi-Fi and a remote control TV. I liked it!

The hotel has been extremely well-maintained and was very clean. Rooms were large. Beds were comfy.

We rather liked that there was no fridge or microwave in the room. (I'd rather not sleep with someone else's cooking odors.)

Coffee in the lobby would have been nice, but there are some cafe's very nearby.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona
Level Contributor
317 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Branding Iron Motel in the heart of Chama. We had 2 queen beds and a large flat screen TV. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It is 7/10 of a mile from the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad station, and close to Heron & El Vado lakes. It had air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, in room coffee, and pet friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights to enjoy the mountain train ride. For over $100. there was no breakfast or coffee in the lobby. Only two pillows and old style bedspread. The room was large and clean. We liked the High country for dinner and the Boxcar Cafe for breakfast, great food at both places.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoEquestrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

For the location an excellent choice. Rooms are spacious, very clean and quiet. Good, no nonsense beds. We had one of our better night's sleeps there. We would definitely come back to this Motel. Although they don't serve breakfast their recommendation of Selina's Cafe nearby was great.

Room Tip: As I always recommend, upper floor, end of corridor. You normally can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joerg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
1.6 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#5 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Branding Iron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branding Iron Motel

Property: Branding Iron Motel
Address: 1511 Hwy 17, Chama, NM 87510
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Branding Iron Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Rio Chama valley at the Southern tip of the spectacular Rocky Mountain Range, the Branding Iron Motel welcomes you from May to October and offers the comforts of home delivered with exceptional Southwestern hospitality. From our unrivaled location, hear the engineer’s whistle announcing the arrival and departure of trains from the historic Chama depot on the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Branding Iron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branding Iron Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing